Becca's Tutoring

Becca's Tutoring

New
Offers online services
New
Offers online services

About

I have wanted to be an educator since the age of nine. My desire was and still is, to help every child reach his or her full potential. I firmly believe that every child has the capacity to accomplish great things academically and in the wider world. I teach according to the individual child's learning style and needs in order to ensure long-term retention and success.

I graduated in March 2020 from Western Governors University with a bachelor's degree in elementary education. I worked for three years as a private tutor while earning my degree. I tutored students aged 10-14 in math as well as vocabulary and reading comprehension. I have also worked as a substitute teacher and teaching assistant over the past few years.

I look forward to helping your child thrive!

The most enjoyable part of tutoring is watching those "light bulb" moments when the student starts to understand and make the concepts their own. Watching the student succeed and reach their academic goals is a joy I will never tire of.


Details

1 employee
1 year in business
Serves South Bend, IN
Offers online services

No reviews (yet)

Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

Frequently asked questions

When beginning work with a new student I like to get a feel for where they currently are in the subject matter. 

I typically like to have a phone call with the parent or guardian to get a deeper understanding of what the long-term and short-term goals are, where the starting point is, what type of learner the student is, as well as any concerns the student and their family may have regarding the tutoring in question. 

Next, I like to look at the student's most recent work in the subject matter. This, along with the previous information provided, helps me formulate the best lessons and approaches to the individual student's needs.

I am also happy to provide lesson plans prior to the session upon request.

I graduated from Western Governors University with a bachelor's degree in elementary education. I worked as a private tutor for three years while earning my degree.  I mostly worked with students aged 10-14 in mathematics. I have also worked as a substitute teacher and teaching assistant over the past few years.

My rates vary between $25-$35 an hour depending on each individual situation.

I'm pretty flexible and open to working with families with unique learning needs.

I have wanted to be a teacher since I was nine years old. I have a strong desire to improve the lives of children through education, and a passion for making it as fun and engaging as possible. 

I worked as a babysitter, homework helper, and camp counselor during my adolescence. I also volunteered to work with children with special needs.

After high school, I immediately started studying for my degree in elementary education by completing my prerequisite coursework at a local community college before attending and graduating from Western Governors University.

Long story short? I've been in education my whole life.

I've worked with students with varying needs. This includes students with ADHD, difficulty retaining or memorizing things, low confidence, and hands-on learners.

I am looking forward to working with students from all backgrounds and hope I can add to the list by helping all types of students.

The best education-related event in my career so far is hearing that my former students are succeeding and thriving on their own.  I know I've done my job well when my students no longer need me. Until then, I'm here to help!

When looking for anything related to education, it is good to make sure that the service and people you are hiring are aware of and can cater to your needs.  You want your experiences in education to be present ones where you are best able to reach your full potential.

There are several questions students should think through before talking to teachers about their needs. Some of these are;

What is my learning style? Do I learn better by hearing, seeing, or touching?

Is there anything in my background that my teacher should be aware of in order to best help me?

What are my goals? What are my short-term goals? What are my long-term goals?

Do I want help catching up in an area or do I want long-term academic support?

What best helps motivate me to learn?

What environments hinder my success?


Services offered

Math