PSU Tutoring

PSU Tutoring

3 hires on

About this tutor

I am currently a senior at Penn State University and am majoring in Data Science as well as minoring in Spanish. I have taken many honors/AP level mathematics and spanish courses while in high school so I will be able to give first hand advice for moving through these courses. Some students feel that it can be helpful to learn from someone close to their age because it feels more informal and less stressful. My ultimate goal is to connect with each student so they feel more comfortable to ask questions and further their understanding of the subject. 

I really enjoy being able to use the skills I've learned to help others succeed. I love seeing students become more optimistic and eager to learn because they are no longer discouraged. Math is my favorite subject to teach because I am able to show students that they are able to master this subject even if they were initially apprehensive or frustrated. 

Read more about this pro


Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review

There are no reviews yet


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I like to breifly look over the student's notes, homework, book pages, etc. so that I can assess and get a feel for the material we are working with. Then, I ask the student their primary concerns, goals, and deadlines for their course. After this, I can form a plan to fit the needs of each student. 

What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have taken almost every AP class offered in high school, so whatever class you're struggling with, I can give you some tips and tricks that were very helpful for my own success in the class. At Penn State University I have taken Calculus 2 and 3 as well as Linear Algebra and the Logic of Mathematical Theory. I am fluent in Spanish and have completed my Spanish minor with the university. I also enjoy writing and have taken two English writing courses during my time at Penn State.

Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My prices start at $20 per session. Each session typically is anywhere from 30 minutes to 1 hour. I will charge $30 for sessions longer than 1 hour. I prefer to use Venmo for payment if possible.

How did you get started teaching?

I have always helped my younger siblings with their homework and have been tutoring my peers since middle school. I used to do volunteer tutoring for National Honors Society while in high school and truly enjoy helping students overcome their academic struggles. 

What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages, including elementary school to college. Whether your goal is to improve your understanding of general course topics or to get help studying for a specific test, I am sure that I can help any student. 

What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Sometimes, students find it easier to communicate and connect with another student rather than with their teachers. As a tutor, I am able to connect better with students because I have more recently been in their position, and can offer some different ways of thinking about problems that helped me succeed in similar courses. 

Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algorithms Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Statistics Help Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Finite Mathematics Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors