Harding Math Help

Harding Math Help

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

Once a popular nanny in the Laurelhurst area, I have a reputation for winning over students quickly. I like to be a force in a students life that reinforces an understanding of math concepts while building the confidence to try, even when the answer isn't obvious right away. 

I am currently pursuing a degree in computer science, so my understanding of math is technical, with a focus on algorithms. I like to keep math practical and engaging, often leaving theoretical math to the side until absolutely necessary for a student's school work. Kids who feel math is boring often have been led there by their teachers, and I aim to right the ship. 

I enjoy watching my students progress; watching a concept come alive and take hold in a student's brain is rewarding beyond measure. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hillsboro, OR 97124
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I start with trying to find a student's current understanding of math concepts. If a student cannot successfully or confidentally solve basic equations, it is to the benefit of the student for me to backpedal and hand them the information they missed the first time around. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I took AP Calculus in high school, and it was forever my favorite subject. After high school, I have nannied for 10 years, teaching various levels of math over the course of this work with some separate tutoring jobs on the side. 

In 2017, I returned to school to earn a degree in Computer Science. I retook Trigonometry and two sections of Calculus to strength my childhood understanding of the concepts. I am currently taking Physics and Discrete Math courses. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $18 for a half hour lesson of one student.

I charge $25 for a full hour lesson of one student.

I charge $30 for a half hour lesson of two students, with an additional $5 per student.

I charge $45 for a full half hour lesson of two students, with an additional $10 per student.

Group rates or tutor shares can be negotiated. 

If the family has tutor needs for a variety of age groups, back to back tutoring lessons can be scheduled.


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring young, as my extended family hoped to capitalize on my math prowess and see it taught to my various siblings and cousins. 

When I started nannying, this skill I had accidentally established came in handy - math tends to be the subject with the most need for a child. I am comfortable breaking down almost any level of math, and have found creative ways to keep kids engaged (as my nanny charges often had a hard time with my switch from caregiver to teacher). I now feel comfortable walking into a home and getting a child engaged with the subject of math.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with a multitude of children doing 8th grade math and younger. 

I have worked with a fair number of high schoolers, particularly in algebra and trigonometry. 

I have worked with a few high schoolers doing calculus, as up until recently calculas was not as familiar to me. In my calculas courses in college, I was often the resource for my fellow students - they would often find me when I was on campus so I could get them through the holes in understanding they had with the teaching that week. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algorithms Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Basic Math Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Geometry Tutors