Elementary Reading/ESL Tutor

Elementary Reading/ESL Tutor

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

I have my Bachelor's degree in Early Childhood Education as well as my Reading Endorsement.  I have been teaching professionally since 2011, and worked in various other education/childcare positions before that.  Since graduating college, I have taught preschool, ESL, and Title 1 Reading/Math for grades K-5 in Stark and Summit county (Ohio).

I most enjoy seeing when a student has a moment where something clicks for them and they understand a new skill or concept.  I have a passion for teaching language arts especially- reading, comprehension, phonics, ESL, etc.  I understand the progression of language arts skills and how to help students through the stages.  I enjoy adding games and other age-appropriate methods that engage students into my lessons.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Canton, OH 44720
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to get to know the students first and do activities to get a feel for their academic skills.  I would do some sort of informal pre-assessment to target skills that the student needs more work on.  This assessment would be based on what the parents or students feel they need assistance in.  This combination of information will help me to know what types of activities and content to work on.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have my Bachelor's in Early Childhood Education and a Reading Endorsement.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $30 per hour for tutoring services.


How did you get started teaching?

I have been interested in teaching and childcare since I was young.  Throughout college, I worked in several after-school programs which taught me how to manage a group of students and showed me that I enjoyed this type of work.  After graduating, my first job was teaching preschool.


What types of students have you worked with?

Title 1 K-5

ESL K-5

General education preK-5

Special Education K-5


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I loved working for a summer program (for 3 summers) with Spanish-speaking students.  The students were amazing, the staff got along great, and we had so many fun experiences.  We went on field trips, worked on English and math skills through a variety of methods, and had a fun theme every summer that the program was built around.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find someone who you feel comfortable with and who believes that it is okay to make mistakes!


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What do they think they are good at?

What do they think they need improvement in?

How do they like to learn (through games, listening, singing songs, etc.)

How do they feel about school and what is their favorite/ least favorite subject?  Why?


Services offered

ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Grammar Tutors Phonics Tutors Reading Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors ELL Tutoring Teachers Elementary Math Tutors English Tutors Summer Tutors