7yrs Tutoring/Childcare Experience

7yrs Tutoring/Childcare Experience

5.0 (3)
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

With 7yrs of tutoring experience and 9yrs of childcare under my belt, I will provide ongoing stability and support for your family.
I recently graduated with a bachelor's in English and Psychology. Starting at 16, I worked at a learning center helping K-8th with their reading, writing, math, and science homework. Once I began college, I volunteered at local middle schools helping young teens prepare to pass state exams for their transition to high school. Eventually, I moved on to an alternative high school, ensuring at-risk teens were able to graduate on time.
I have babysat across the ages, from newborns to teenagers, and I have tutored students as young as 5 and as old as 21. Whether your child is behind in school or considered a gifted learner, I will devise a plan to fit their best needs. I especially welcome special needs.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Casselberry, FL 32707
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Yani Rodriguez

    Holly worked at the after school program my 2 daughters went to. She helped my kindergartener learn how to read and continued working with her when she moved up to first grade. My other daughter was in 2nd grade when she started working with Holly. Every day after school, Holly would check her homework packet and reteach my daughter lessons she didnt understand in school. It was great because my daughter was always complaining her school teacher talked to fast for her to remember everything.

  • Barbara Gonzales

    Holly babysat my 4 grandchildren on a regular basis for years until she left for college. She was able to keep them busy enough that they didn't fight. They played games, watched movies, and she accompanied them outside to ride their bikes or jump on the trampoline. My older grandson had homework packets he needed to complete every week and Holly would go over it with him, making sure he answered all the questions correctly. Also, I appreciated how flexible she was when I was running late.

  • Hanna Barber

    Holly babysat my two kids weekly while I was at work meetings that ran into the evening time. She was great at entertaining my three year old son and also made sure my nine year old daughter did her homework. She would go over my daughter's books with her to make sure my daughter understood the stories and would pass her test to get reading points. Holly came early or stayed late when I needed her to.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

To help establish positive report, I prefer my first interaction with the students I'm helping to be a light-hearted one where we just get to know each other. We have the entire school year to work on academic proficiency, so our first session should really be about my getting to know your child's personality, including their likes and dislikes as well as their current feelings surrounding school. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

For two years, I worked at a learning center helping K-8th grade students on a daily basis with their reading, writing, math, and science homework. Once I began college, I volunteered at local middle schools helping young teens prepare to pass state exams for their transition to high school. For the last two years, as a volunteer counselor at an alternative high school, I helped young adults process their trauma through art books they created that chronicle their childhoods. The students were able to make up English credits through their work with me.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

For one hour of tutoring, I charge $40 for one child. If there is 2+ children present during the session, I increase the price by $10 per child. If you request at least 2 hours of tutoring, then I will drop the starting price to $35/hour. For full-time positions, I charge $24/hour for a work week that has at least 30 hours. 


What types of students have you worked with?

Many of the kids I work with face language barriers or have diagnosed mental health differences such as learning disabilities, ADHD, or ASD. The majority of the students I’ve engaged with identify as a racial, ethnic, sexual, and/or gender minority, meaning I have the personal experience and professional consideration needed to successfully serve a wide range of students. My undergraduate career has thoroughly prepared me for this position with a wide range of course material, not just in psychology but also in fields like multicultural literature, queer studies, disability studies, and feminist studies, establishing a comprehensive framework for working with minority populations.


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors British Literature Help Tutors Classics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Poetry Writing Classes