Allison Hatch, Experienced Tutor With Many Personal References

Allison Hatch, Experienced Tutor With Many Personal References

5.0
1 employee
18 years in business

About this tutor

I have 15 years of teaching experience in Nassau County, Florida and Camden County, Georgia in Special Education and remain a currently certified teacher. In addition to this full-time public school teaching experience, I have also tutored multiple students in math, reading comprehension, reading fluency, spelling / vocabulary and also writing. These students have ranged from PK to 5th grade and have all made notable progress under my tutelage. Sessions typically last one hour in your home but I am willing to tutor in my home, at the public library, or in other neutral locations. I have tutored mostly students in regular education but have specific expertise in students with learning disabilities, dyslexia, in addition to developmental delays. I am well versed in  techniques such as Applied Behavior Analysis, Picture Exchange Communication, American Sign Language and have extensive knowledge and expertise and working with students on the autism spectrum.  While I miss teaching a great deal, I adopted two children from foster care in 2015 and have been pursuing tutoring work and babysitting so that I can stay home and be their Mom. In addition to multiple successful tutoring jobs, I have intervened quite effectively with my own two children who were born positive for multiple substances and encountered many challenges as a result of their first traumatic years of life. I welcome any inquiries about helping your struggling or uninterested student.

Put simply, seeing a student conquer learning challenges, gain pride and belief in their capabilities and develop a love for learning is the reason I am a teacher. And while teaching in the public schools was rewarding, through the effective one-on-one model of tutoring, I've seen the most struggling of kiddos completely transform and succeed!! 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My hourly rate includes one hour of tutoring in in your home, my home or in a neutral location such as the public library. Also included is a minimum of 15 minutes of planning time before the session and preparation of any necessary materials. I will never arrive without a plan, lesson objectives, and all necessary materials and supplies. I have experience tutoring in all subject areas and plan lessons based on information gathered from the student, parent, teachers, as well as my own diagnostic sources including individualized pretests and review of student work samples. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a bachelors in education from Valdosta State and a masters in education from Florida State. I have 15 years of teaching experience in Nassau and Camden Counties and have tutored part-time for 17 years. While my teaching experience is primarily with younger students in special education, I have found that effective teaching strategies apply in all areas and to all ages.  Much of my recent tutoring has been with 3rd, 4th, and 5th graders in regular education and they have all made tremendous progress! I have also worked extensively with a student on the autism spectrum as a homeschooler.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$40 per hour includes minimum 15 minute planning session, my transportation to your home and all necessary materials. 

***May request additional $5-10/hour if you are greater than 20 miles away.


Services offered

Elementary Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Phonics Tutors Grammar Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Essay Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors English Tutors Creative Writing Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Handwriting Tutors