AMPM Math Tutoring

AMPM Math Tutoring

5.0 (2)
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee

About this tutor

Hello! My name is Adriana Pereira. I am a Cuban-American undergraduate student at Johns Hopkins University. I am a senior on the route to achieving a bachelor's degree in Behavioral Biology with a minor in Psychology. My extensive study of behavior and psychology has proven to be an asset in creating individualized learning environments for each student. I would also love to use my knowledge of math and science to help your student excel in school. My undergraduate coursework has included biology, chemistry/organic chemistry/biochemistry, calculus 1 and 2, and probability and statistics. I have a younger brother who I have tutored over the years in algebra and chemistry. Currently, I am helping him prepare for the SAT. 

My biggest drive is knowing that the things I dedicate myself to will result in a greater good.  As a tutor, I find solace in knowing that I am able to help others reach their goals. Now and in the future, I intend to concentrate all of my efforts to this goal. It is for this reason that I am studying to pursue a career in the health field.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hialeah, FL 33016
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Shenika Peugeot

    The tutoring session was very productive. My daughter understood the concepts and felt more confident moving forward with her assignments. The tutor was patient and carefully explained the concepts and asked questions to ensure that my daughter knew what she was doing.

  • Inaaya Muhammad

    Very helpful, asked questions to make sure I really understand what I was doing.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Understanding strengths and weaknesses in both the subject at hand and their studying style I believe to be the most important thing to asses with a new student. Tutoring in particular has to be suited to each student and their needs in order for it to be most effective. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have almost four years worth of undergraduate coursework in math, science, and psychology from a top ten university. I graduated in the top 15 students from my high school and excelled in my math Advance Placement exams while also scoring in the 90th+ percentile in all of the SAT and ACT components. 

Beyond academic achievements, I have served as a mentor for First Generation Low Income (FLI) students at my undergraduate institution. I helped the Johns Hopkins FLI class of 2023 students in their transition from high school to college. The goal was, and still is as I continue to be a part of the executive board, to create an environment that is transparent and warm allowing the students to feel comfortable expressing any insecurities they may have.  


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

While I send out quotes, all of my prices are negotiable. As someone who grew up low-income, am considerate of the fact that not all families have the means to provide their children with tutoring. I hope to be able to accomodate to their needs.


How did you get started teaching?

I began tutoring my younger brother in math and science while he was in middle school. Now, as a high schooler, I am helping him prepare for his SAT and ACT exams. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Geometry Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors AP English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors ESOL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors