Math / Science Tutor

Math / Science Tutor

5.0(1 review)
Offers online services
Offers online services


My name is Smith Pittman and I am a Mechanical Engineering PhD canidate at Colorado State with a BS in Environmental Engineering. I have four years of experience tutoring Algebra, Precalculus, and Calculus at Arizona State Univesity's earned admissions program, which comprised of mainly highschoolers and people who struggle with math. I was also a teaching assistant for Engineering Numerical Methods at ASU and my research specializes in electrochemical mathematical modeling.

When working with students, my goal is to determine the root cause of their confusion. Often, higher level math classes are overwhelming simply because an earlier concept was misunderstood or forgotten. When students have conceptual questions, I provide several ways of understanding that are relevant to the student, as gaining conceptual understanding of math and science is never one size fits all.


Hired 1 time
1 employee
Serves Severance , CO
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Venmo, Paypal, Apple Pay, Zelle

Social media


Grade level

High school, College / graduate school, Adult learner

Type of math

General arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre-calculus, Calculus

Photos and videos

  • Reviews

    0 reviews


    derek W.

    She is very patient and explains concepts to me multiple ways until I understand. My grade improved a lot.
    ... Show more
    March 28, 2024

    Frequently asked questions

    My goal is to provide simple and effective techniques to approaching mathematical problems. I find that calmly walking students through my own thought process, and explaining how I have come to understand the math is the most helpful thing to do. 

    I have worked for four years as a math tutor for Algebra 2, PreCalculus, and Calculus 1 for Arizona State's earned admissions program. The students in this program were typically either in high school, or struggled with mathematics. I was also a teaching assistant for a Numerical Methods course, which is a course for advanced mathematical concepts and MATLAB coding. 

    My rate depends on the difficulty level of the course and the distance I have to travel. It is within the range of 60-90 per hour, typically 70 per hour.
    I worked as a math tutor for ASU’s universal learners. Any one could join the courses, so I have a wide range of experience tutoring people with different needs.
    Mostly I tutor high school students who were looking to get ahead and adult learners. I prefer to tutor people who care about gaining understanding and knowing why math/science is important.

    Services offered