The Guy Academy

The Guy Academy

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I have a bachelors of science degree in the Liberal Arts & Sciences, with a focus in Psychology.  I also have an associate of science degree in dental hygiene.  I have worked as a dental hygienist part time for 27 years in my community while concurrently homeschooling for 13 years.  My youngest student will graduate in May of 2020. I am pursuing a love of teaching and tutoring struggling students from public education and co-op educational settings.  My main focus is mathematics, but I can tutor other subjects by request.  My former homeschooled students have been successful in their college years, graduating from the College of William & Mary, John Tyler Community College, and (attending currently) Liberty University.

I have been a dental hygienist part time for 27 years.  I homeschooled my family as well for over 13 years. I have found that I would rather teach than just about anything else.  It is a joy to work with young people and help them succeed in their studies.  To see a smile on their face and a renewed sense of hope when they finally understand a concept, is quite simply, priceless:) I appreciate your interest and would welcome the chance to meet you and your student.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Chester, VA 23831
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

We usually meet for an initial intake session to determine the specifice needs of each student.  At that meeting, we agree upon a convenient schedule to continue with further sessions.  We can increase or decrease the frequency of tutoring on a week-by-week basis, since the needs of the student may vary. I do ask that the student bring worksheets, exams, quizzes, textbook, and any other materials that they have.  This allows me to more quickly pinpoint problem areas in order to be most efficient from the very first session.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Bachelors of Science, Liberal Arts, Psychology

13+ years of experience teaching homeschool students (Kindergarten through 12th grade)

Tutoring experience with other students from various backgrounds


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Analytical Geometry Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Developmental Algebra Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Non-Euclidean Geometry Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Spanish Tutors Teacher Tutors