Math And Beyond

Math And Beyond

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

I have tutored math and science for several years. Now I work as a data scientist for a major corporation, but I still love teaching. Because of my background, math and science are not just boxes to check in your education; they are stepping stones to a profitable and fulfilling career.

My favorite thing about tutoring is helping students get that lightbulb moment. I love to see them succeed, and I try to teach them to figure things out for themselves. My ultimate goal is to put myself out of business with each student.

I have a Masters in Computer Information Systems from Boston University and a Bachelors in Middle Eastern Studies from Emory University. I have completed Calculus AB, BC, and multivariate Calculus, Statistics, Linear Algebra, Physics B and C, Computer Science A (and AB equivalent in college), Number Theory, Differential Equations, Applied Probability, and more.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Alexandria, VA 22304
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First I like to get to know the student and their needs, what is challenging them in their class, and any learning difficulties they have.

I usually work off of students' homework. I try to get students to do as much of it by themselves as possible. When I see a gap in foundational knowledge, I give mini lessons to get them up to speed in their class.

typically I have met with students weekly, but it's up to them and their needs.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have completed around 10 courses in computer science and information systems at the undergrad and graduate level. I have completed 10 math courses at the undergraduate and graduate level. I completed AP physics B and C in high school and received a 5 on the B test and the C mechanics test. I tutored students regularly from 2007 to 2015 (started in high school and last tutored a couple years after undergrad). I am looking to get back into tutoring because I would like to transition into teaching later in life and want to maintain my skills. Currently I work as a data scientist which requires applying math, statistics and computer science to my work on a daily basis.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$40/hr, first lesson 1/2 price.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Statistics Help Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors