Mize Tutoring

Mize Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I am passionate about primary education. I have completed my coursework and completed my exams for my EC-6 general education certification. I am waiting on my internship to complete it. 

I currently work as an instructional assistant and an English Language Arts tutor for an 8th grader. I have experience in teaching children from ages 5-13.

I have a bachelors degree in Cultural Anthropology which has given me the tools to incorporate multiculturalism and effective communication/relationship skills with students. 

I am available Monday-Friday 5:00 PM-7:00 PM and Saturday 8:00 AM-12:00 PM. 

I only offer virtual tutoring.

I am passionate about learning and sharing my passion with my students. I love critical thinking and writing. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

San Antonio, TX 78247
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • scotter

    Micaela is a wonderful babysitter and a joy to have around! She is a great listener. She is always flexible in adjusting her academic advice to suit student’s needs.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

When working with a new student, I first work to get to know one another. It is important to build a supportive and positive relationship with students. I share information about my background, interests, and education. I allow them to share information about themselves as well.

I then give them a sheet to fill out with their parent concerning what subjects they need assistance in. As well as install a good communication system with both the student and parent to correspond with homework or upcoming exams. 

I then outline my expectations for our tutoring sessions. It is important to share expectations so that students can apply themselves to their classwork. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have completed my General Education EC-6 coursework and both content exams to obtain my certification. I am only waiting for my internship to finish. 

I have a bachelors degree in Cultural Anthropology. 
I have worked as an educator for two years. 
I currently work as an instructional assistant at an elementary school. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My base rate is $35 per tutoring session. I do not exceed 3 hours a week per student. I often do not suggest more than 45 minutes of tutoring for middle and elementary school students. 

I am available Monday-Friday from 5:00 PM-7:00 PM and Saturdays from 8:00 AM-12:00 PM.


How did you get started teaching?

I began teaching two years ago at a Museum. My interest in becoming an educator was sparked during my junior year in college when I was researching multicultural education. Since then, it has been my passion to be an educator and make a positive influence in kid's lives. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have experience working with grades K-8. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

One of my students started the year hating writing. With emotional support, positive affirmations, and intentional teaching practice, they are now beginning to enjoy the writing process. 

I feel so accomplished!

I am also about to apply to UTSA's graduate program to receive my Masters in ESL. I hope I get in!


Services offered

English Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Phonics Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Technical Writing Training Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors