Tari Tutors

Tari Tutors

5.0 (1)
2 years in business

About this tutor

I'd like my students to obtain the best possible outome in thier tutoring session. Using different approaches catered to the student, it is my hope that the information will be relayed in a manner that is easy to remember and attain. Coming from an inner city community myself, I also work with students in underserved areas. Working together, I'd like you, the student, to have a positive, enjoyable, and memorable learning experience. I have a Bachelor's degree in Biology from Dillard University and I am currently in a Master's program in Biology at Texas Southern Univerity. I am also a medical scribe so I can aid with medical terminology courses. I have 2 years of experience in teaching Biology and Lab Coursework to College Freshmen. 

I enjoy when a student is finally able to realize they can do what they thought they couldn't. I love helping students recognize their star potential :) 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Houston, TX 77021
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Rachel Griffin

    Ms. Lathan was very patient when working with my child. She definitely encourages the student to be independent while providing guidance. I would highly recommend for your children or your needs. Thanks Tari



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My typical process for working with a new student is to first gauge their knowledge of the specific subject they need help with. I also ask if they enjoy any creative endeavors or hobbies  such as music, art, or dance so that I may relate the subjects to things that the the student will enjoy. When working with a student my main objective by the end of the session is to have the student understand the subject matter independently. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelors of Science from Dillard University where i majored in Biology and minored in Chemistry. 

I am currently a Master's candidate at Texas Southern University and have experince in teaching Biological and laboratory science 

I have 4+ years of experience working in molecular reseach laboratories

I have 1+ year of medical terminology knowledge 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My lessons start at $25 per hour and are subject to negotiation based on need 


How did you get started teaching?

I have always been fond of teaching, my mother was an educator for over 35 years and I have always had the ability to relay different types of information to various demographics. My first official teaching opportunity was offered during my Masters program. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of university level and grade school. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

A recent event I am fond of is the release of Hamilton to Disney Plus lol. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would tell the student to first assess thier needs and methods of learning and to find a tutor that will cater to thier learning style. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What is my learning style? 

What area in the subject am I having the most trouble in? 

What do I hope to gain from using a tutor?

Have I tried my best to understand and read the subject material before saying I do not understand? 

What is the best way for me to best remember content material? 


Services offered

English Tutors ESL Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Speech Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Biology Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Ecology Tutoring Earth Science Tutors Cell Biology Tutors Genetics Tutors