Math And English Tutoring

Math And English Tutoring

5.0

About this tutor

About Me

I am a recent college graduate, with a major in Political Science and a minor in Psychology seeking a position as a professional tutor at the elementary and middle school level.  I am currently studying for the LSAT’s in order to enter law school for Fall of 2021. 

Scheduling

My schedule is very flexible.  I am open to any day of the week, and at any time.  Given the state of the pandemic, I am available for remote/virtual sessions, as well as in person sessions. 

Core qualifications

  • Strong interpersonal skills, especially in demonstrating patience with students with specialized educational needs 

  • Highly proficient in grammar and literary studies 

  • Graduated all semesters of undergraduate degree with Dean’s List 

Professional Experience

  • August 2019- March 2020: Tutored a fourth grade student with special \educational needs in mathematics, reading, and writing.  My student showed significant improvement based on her teacher’s observation subsequent to tutoring.  

  • January 2019-June 2019: Through the Petey Greene Program, I tutored a 35 year old inmate at Rikers Island with a focus on literacy.  I independently organized a curriculum to help my student learn basic literacy skills. My student began tutoring sessions with a basic understanding of phonetics, and ended sessions able to read and write simple sentences at a third grade level. 

Education 

Bachelor of Arts in Political Science (2019); GPA 3.8

The New School, New York, NY 

Dean’s List; Graduated Summa cum Laude

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Portland, OR 97221
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I like to check in and see what materials/curriculum my student is working with, so I can take notes on their strong areas and weak areas.  This gives me a good idea of how to prepare further lesson plans, and to determine which aspects of the lesson need more focus. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Political science and minoring in Psychology.  I graduated with honors, and with a cumulative GPA of 3.8.  For 9 months I worked with an inmate at Rikers Island, with a strong focus on literacy.  I am also currently a tutor for a special needs child in the 4th grade.  


How did you get started teaching?

I started formally teaching in my third year of my undergraduate program, tutoring at Rikers Island. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with adults and children. 


Services offered

English Tutors ESL Tutors Handwriting Tutors American Literature Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Literature Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Psychology Tutors American History Tutors Social Studies Tutors