Laura Ballard

Laura Ballard

5.0 (3)
1 hire on Tutors.com
11 years in business

About this tutor

I love seeing students have that "aha" moment. I seek to guide students toward the correct answer but want the discovery to be their own. I am willing to tutor any area of high school or college level mathematics, with the disclaimer that if a particular topic requires outside preparation from me, that time may be factored into the tutoring cost.

I enjoy seeing students grow in confidence and meet their goals.  I also enjoy connecting with and encouraging students and setting them up for success.  I like to work myself out of a job (or into a less structured support role) as students grow in mastery and confidence.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Syracuse, NY 13207
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Beth Stevick

    Laura was great about communicating with us. She did a thorough job of preparing our daughter to successfully challenge the Algebra 1 regents test and along the way re-kindled some joy and enthusiasm for math and cleared away layers of frustration she had accumulated.

  • Katherine Stevick

    Laura was warm and friendly, endlessly patient, and made algebra fun for an overwhelmed student. Thanks to her, I was able to successfully "challenge" (get at least an 85% on the exam without having taken the class) the algebra Regents exam in NY state, which then allowed me to take the advanced math track in high school. I did ultimately graduate valedictorian, so Laura definitely set me up for success!

  • LaVonda Reed

    Laura is a knowledgeable and patient tutor. She has successfully helped my daughter through three years of math courses including AP Calculus AB. Laura is great!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I typically set out to discover what the student's goals are and then make a plan based on those goals, with more or less detail depending on the situation and desired outcome.  I also encourage students to prepare in ways that maximize the effectiveness of our time together


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have my PhD in mathematics from Syracuse University, and taught Calculus as a part-time instructor at Syracuse.  I have also been the primary instructor for Life Sciences Calculus II and Business Calculus.  I have over ten years of tutoring experience for both high school and college students, as well as experience helping students in a group setting.  In addition to having a degree in mathematics, I also have a bachelor's degree in adolescence education.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My 2022 rates for new clients are $50 per hour session and $30 per half hour session.  Rates are flexible.


Services offered

Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors College Math Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Math Tutors Precalculus Tutors Probability Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Quantitative Reasoning Tutors Finite Mathematics Tutors Discrete Math Tutors