Math And Science Tutoring

Math And Science Tutoring

5.0Exceptional(6 reviews)
Offers online services
Offers online services


I am currently enrolled at Northeastern University in a PhD in Electrical Engineering/Physics. Growing up I was a peer tutor in middle school and college. Part of what makes my tutoring unique now is the ability to relate what one learns in class theory to the real world, as well as provide an example for what a career based in math and science looks like outside of teaching; most people do not consider continuing their education in these fields because they do not know what types of careers they can get. Part of my tutoring experience will include showing all of the different types of jobs one can get by pursueing math and science.

I am passionate about training the next generation of mathematicians and scientists. Unfortunately, right now the number of people choosing to go into these fields is astonishingly low, likely due to the fact that these subjects can be challenging if not taught in a relateable way. I look forward to working with students to encourage them and show them that these subjects are't scary, and that they are more than capable of handling these challenges.


Hired 18 times
1 employee
1 year in business
Serves Nashua , NH
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Check, Zelle, Bitcoin


Grade level

High school, College / graduate school, Adult learner

Type of math

Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre-calculus, Calculus, Statistics

Photos and videos

  • Reviews

    0 reviews

    Kate G.

    I can’t say enough good things about Katherine. She helped my college-aged daughter get through a very intense summer calculus class – 12 weeks of material compressed into six weeks, especially challenging for a kid who does not enjoy math. Katherine was flexible, steady, patient and knowledgeable. I would hire her again in a heartbeat.
    ... Show more
    July 16, 2023
    Hired on Tutors

    Cynthia S.

    We are so happy we found Katherine! She explains math concepts in a much better format than daughters school math teacher.
    ... Show more
    July 14, 2023

    Maeve P.

    She has been super great in helping me review BC Calc. In tutoring, Katie makes sure to explain the why of every problem which is really helpful. She has made a hard class much more manageable!
    ... Show more
    January 13, 2023
    Hired on Tutors

    ke G.

    Katie is tutoring my daughter in Honors Geometry. Shes been phenomenal and I saw an immediate improvement in my daughters test grades. I appreciate how well she communicates, how shes accessible, and how she always emails the notes after their sessions. Shes even offered to communicate directly with the teacher.
    ... Show more
    December 16, 2022
    Hired on Tutors

    Jill H.

    Great communicator! Has been able to help my son in math. His grade continues to go up.
    ... Show more
    December 03, 2022
    Hired on Tutors

    Karla H.

    Professional, timely, pleasant, helpful and knowledgable
    ... Show more
    September 30, 2022
    Hired on Tutors

    Frequently asked questions

    Typically I would start by reviewing the material myself before the session to get a handle on what the student learning. When working with the student I would start by reviewing and focusing on what the student feels comfortable with to build confidence. This will followed by a review of the more challenging material. Then we would discuss what the student is having trouble with and why. The why is especially important to discuss because it can help determine whether the challenge is in building the students confidence or understanding. 

    I have Bachelor of Arts Degree from Boston College where I majored in Mathematics and minored in Physics. Currently I am in a PhD program in Electrical Engineering and Physics. 

    Initial rates are based on school level as below

    High School Math: 40$/hr

    High School Physics: 40$/hr

    PreCalculus: 45$/hr

    Calculus: 50$/hr

    AP Physics: 50$/hr

    SAT: 65$/hr

    SAT II Math: 75$/hr

    These rates are initial online tutoring rates. If travel is required that will be factored into cost. 

    I started tutoring as a peer in middle school, and continued through high school. As I have continued deeper into my PhD I have found more free time to start doing something I love.   

    I have worked with a plethora of students. I have tutored in middle school math concepts such as pre-algebra. I have tutored high school subjects as well, such as Spanish, Algebra, Geometry, Algebra II, Trigonometry, Calculus, PreCalculus. 

    During the summer, my heart is at the beach. The sun, the water, the sand, the salty sea breeze combined create the closest thing to heaven on earth.  My family goes to the beach every few weekends to get together, and we all have a blast hanging out. Recently, we met down there for the 4th of July and had a good time barbequeing, playing card games, and lounging on the beach. 

    I would suggest that you ask them what they like most about the subject they are tutoring. I think this will show the passion that your tutor has for the subject and hopefully shed a different light on an otherwise painnful subject.  

    I personally think that students should ask all questions that come to their mind. What often dissuades people from enjoying and keeping up with math and science is that it is perceived as a solo operation where you alone have to be able to solve everything; this is not at all how it works in higher level STEM fields. In fact, higher level STEM fields rely on collective knowledge to progress research; the ability to feel comfortable asking questions and collaborating needs to be stimulated during these developmental times such as middle and high school.  

    Services offered

    College Admissions
    Test Prep Tutoring