Kevin Kim Tutoring (K-12 And College)

Kevin Kim Tutoring (K-12 And College)

5.0 (1)
1 hire on Tutors.com

About this tutor

Hi! My name is Kevin Kim and I grew up in the Columbia, MD area! I attended the University of California-Los Angeles (UCLA) for undergraduate school with a major in neuroscience. I am currently in my gap year before medical school, working as a clinical research assistant at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in a stroke recovery lab. I will be attending the University of Maryland School of Medicine this upcoming August 2018. Teaching is something I enjoy very much, and I love the gratification that comes when my students do well! 

I have extensive education in the math and sciences, and I have tutored 1-on-1 elementary school and middle school math. My teaching style is to develop individualized methods and problem solving techniques in my students so that they can tackle problems in their own way. 

To see my education, research, and volunteering experiences, please visit: https://www.linkedin.com/in/kevintkim/

Teaching is something I plan to continue to be involved in as a future physician in academia. There are few things more gratifying than observing a student grow and mature as a learner and as an independent thinker. I try to engage my students with the material and hopefully get them excited to learn!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Towson, MD 21204
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Meprisia Moragneel

    He worked well with children. He is nice, kind and competent.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first try to observe the student's level of understanding is in his or her subject of need. Then, I identify the student's strengths and weaknesses to hone in on. Finally, I work with the student to develop individualized learning/studying techniques that works best for him or her.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

High School: River Hill (Clarksville, MD)

College: UCLA (Los Angeles, CA), Neuroscience B.S.

Medical School: University of Maryland (Baltimore, MD), beginning Fall 2018


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $50/hr as a standard college graduate tutor price


How did you get started teaching?

I first began tutoring elementary and middle school students as a high school student in Clarksville, MD, helping younger sibilings of teammates on my soccer teams. When I entered college, I began teaching health education to high school students in the Los Angeles area. 


What types of students have you worked with?

Elementary, middle, and high school students.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I would say that finding a teacher who tries to improve your personal learning methods and techniques is more important than finding a teacher who preaches test-preparation-techniques. It is more rewarding long-term to best hone your individual learning style, rather than studying how tests are administered or what kinds of questions may be tested. The latter will come with the former.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Just a few: what is your current level of understanding in your class in relation to your peers, what is your ultimate goal with a tutor, how motivated are you as a student to receive academic aid, and what are your strengths and weaknesses as both a student in general and as a student in your subject of need.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algebra Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Statistics Help Tutors Arithmetic Tutors College Math Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Statistics Tutors