Elementary Tutoring

Elementary Tutoring

Offers online services
Offers online services


I have a: BA from Duke University and two MEds from Boston College. I have had over fifteen years experience working with children aged three and higher.

I love learning new things every day as well as teaching skills and content knowledge needed for academic success.


Hired 4 times
1 employee
18 years in business
Serves Reading , MA
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Check, Venmo, Zelle


Grade level

Pre-kindergarten, Elementary school, Middle school, High school, Adult learner

Type of math

General arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre-calculus, Statistics

No reviews (yet)

Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

Frequently asked questions

I like to have a discussion with the student first about their interests and feelings about different aspects of school.  I usually ask parents to get information from the teacher about school performance.  If it's for general improvent, I then do some quick informal assessments to see where the student needs to start with me.

See previous sections for education.

I was a reading ta for two years, taught second grade for three years, went back to school to get my reading specialist certification, was a reading specialist and special education teacher assistant for a year, then started at a school teaching first grade and moved up a grade level every year until fourth grade, where I stayed for five years.  Currently I am a long term substitute in Wilmington for a Reading Specialist.  I have attended as much professional development as possible, especially on learning disabilities and different math programs.

I charge $40 an hour.  I want to be affordable, as most tutors withy experience charge more.

At Duke, I needed a work study job.  I worked for America Reads, which meant that I went into Durham Public Schools to tutor kids in reading skills. My mom was also a teacher.  In high school I tutored for community service for National Honors Society.

Besides working with students of all ages, I've also worked with students with a wide variety of needs (having so much experience in the public school system).

Honestly, outside of teaching, my favorite thing to do is to hang out with my two cats watching Netflix.  

Trust your gut reading teachers responses or talking with them.  Choose one whom you feel like you can talk to.

When do you pay attention the most: when being spoken to, reading by yourself, looking at images, watching science videos, etc?

During the school day and in life, what do I find easy, just right, challenging, and too hard?

Services offered

Reading And Writing Tutoring
Test Prep Tutoring