Sarah's Tutoring

Sarah's Tutoring

Offers online services
Offers online services


All of my life, I have been helping others understand. I was always the go-to for grammar, writing, and math in elementary and high school. I started getting paid for that help in college and have never stopped helping. I graduated with my teaching degree in 2007 and spent that summer and the next tutoring for the local community college. I have worked with students of all ages and work especially well with high functioning autistic. Most of my tutoring students have come to me for math but there is an increasing number of students who also seek help with writing skills. While some of my tutoring students have come to me to correct or build up a specific skill or for a specific semester long class and are with me only a short time, many students have stayed with me for more than a year, moving from one set of skills to the next as they begin to master them.

I have an associates in music, a bachelors in elementary education, and a masters in curriculum and instruction. I have been teaching in my own classroom for a total of 6 1/2 years, and have worked as a short (1 day) and long term (1-5 months) substitute teacher for 5 years. I work primarily with 5th and 6th graders but have also spent significant amounts of time with young 5 (developmental kindergarten) and 1st grade. Another group of students I work well with is the adult learner, one who is returning to school after several years in the work force.

I thrive on that a-ha moment and will do whatever it takes to get the student to that moment. My students feel listened to and important. They gain confidence in their own abilities while they increase in understanding of the necessary educational skills. They know they can ask me any question and I will find a way to explain the answer so that they understand. We work together in a variety of ways, using a framework of multiple intelligences and brain related research to approach problems from various angles. Students learn by example and I work hard to live that example at all times.


1 employee
17 years in business
Serves Elkhart , IN
Offers online services

Payment methods


Social media


Grade level

Elementary school, Middle school, High school, Adult learner

Type of math

General arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Geometry

Photos and videos

  • No reviews (yet)

    Ask this tutor for references. There's no obligation to hire and we’re here to help your booking go smoothly.

    Frequently asked questions

    When working with a new student, the first step is to set objectives for our time together and a proposed time table of how those objectives will be met.  This is usually done in a meeting with the student and/or parent prior to the first tutoring session and could take 15-45 minutes.  This is what I consider a free consultation.  No fee is charged.  

    At the first tutoring session, I begin by first building a relationship with the student through conversation, a game or activity, etc.  Once we have built a trust, the work begins.  Using what I know and continually asking questions to understand the student's perspective better, I begin to work toward the objectives agreed upon by the parents and myself during the initial meeting.  

    Services offered

    Special Needs
    Reading And Writing Tutoring