Tutoring By Deven

Tutoring By Deven

5.0
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I take time to listen not only to the parents concerns, but to the child as well. I'm very caring, dependable, flexible, patient, and I love to make learning fun and relatable. I have worked with a range of different types of children  from those who might be shy to those with ADHD or Bipolar to name a few. Learning can be very challenging for some, and it's my job to make it fun and a way for them to understand. Everyone learns differently and it's my job to find your child's best way of learning. I hope I can help your child learn and succeed on education journey!

I love helping! I really enjoy seeing a student's face light up when they finally understand what they were struggling on. I love seeing them get so excited when their grades improve knowing that their hardwork paid off. That is so rewarding to me!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Greenwood, IN 46142
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first like to hear the parents concerns and then 1 on 1 I like to hear from the child what their concerns or challenges are. I then get to know them and observe them do a problem or two. Then I like to help them set goals of what they want to happen with tutoring. Lastly, I come up with a teaching plan and execute it. I make changes throughout if needed and the goal is the child better understands and their grades improve.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I'm currently a Purdue University student going for my Masters of Science in Psychology in Applied Behavior. I'm on the Chancellor's List, I'm part of SCLA and PSI CHI International Honor Society in Psychology. I have always been around children and knew I wanted a career helping children. Besides tutoring I was in childcare for 17 years. I continue today as well part time.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I require 1 hour minimum. I charge $20/hour paid in cash at the start of tutoring. If your child needs more than 1 hour that is absolutely fine! I just ask you pay for the whole time at the beginning of the session.

For example:

John needs 2 hours tutoring from 4pm - 6pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  His parents would pay $40 in cash at 4pm on Tuesday and then again on Thursday.

I charge by the hour and not by the subject.


How did you get started teaching?

I was always a straight A student and enjoyed helping my friends with their homework as well as younger children that my mother watched at her in home daycare. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with a lot of students from shy to having mental health problems such as ADHD or Bipolar.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

My advice would be to pick a person you feel is a good fit for you. You want someone who can understand your struggles, so they can truly help you. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

They should ask why the teacher is tutoring or why they got involved with tutoring. Have they improved children's grades? Have they ever gave up on a student? How do they handle a difficult student? 

I think these questions are really good to know and give a student and their parents a peace of mind.


Services offered

American Government Tutors American History Tutors American Literature Tutors Anatomy Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Art History Tutors Art Theory Tutors BASIC Coding Classes Basic Math Tutors Biology Tutors British Literature Help Tutors Classics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors CPR Classes Creative Writing Tutors Earth Science Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors English Tutors