Boruff Tutoring

Boruff Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
13 years in business

About this tutor

I have a Bachelor's degree in Mathematics and have been exposed to math at every grade level from elementary school and middle school. I have studied higher maths but am not ready to tutor beyond Algebra 1 to Algebra 2 yet. The service I give to students is two-fold: firstly, it is for their benefit. I would want to tutor in a way that makes math fun for them. Not that math could ever be the highest thrill for many, but that they could have the confidence of knowing they can do anything with numbers as long as they learn the processes of math. Secondly, the service is for myself. I am a homeschool Mom, so any experience I get teaching and helping other students will ultimately help me with my daughter(s) in teaching school.

(Furthermore, I'm also a nerd in many ways so I enjoy being challenged as well.)

The beauty of math is that there are so many avenues to take within each subject, so many different combinations of questions that can be asked, and the challenges are endless! I enjoy helping others embrace and overcome many challenges in math and life! Math is not only made up of many processes and operations, but also has alot to do with logic and the way we reason everyday. There will never be the possibility of running out of something new to learn!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Warrenville, SC 29851
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, you have to learn some about the student as a person to get to know them.

Secondly, you need to know what subject and area they are struggling with so you can study to prepare yourself. 

Thirdly, tackle problems related to the processes they need assistance with. 

Fourthly, have a good time.

Fifthly, watch student blossom!

Sixthly, repeat :)


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

B.S. in Mathematics Graduated 2008

Tutored at UNC Pembroke college students

Homeschool my daughter(s)


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

15.00 hour


How did you get started teaching?

I have been homeschooling my daughter who is currently in 5th grade, but this year was the first she attended school and has excelled - moving up a grade after the first half of the school year. I had homeschooled her 6 years, and tutored for a college university, tutored students for Ga milestones in Spring of 2019, and am working this year as a teacher for Victory Christian School. I teach math for 7th and 8th grade, and science for 7th and 8th. I work with my autistic student with Practical math, and did a STEM project for the first time this Winter with FutureCity 2019!

https://futurecity.org/


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors