Mackenzie Math Tutoring

Mackenzie Math Tutoring

5.0

About this tutor

My name is Mackenzie Joy and I am a senior at UGA studying astrophysics. I've taken math classes up through multivariable calculus and differential equations, and I have 5 years of experience tutoring math at the middle school, high school, and college level. My tutoring services are online and available outside the normal 9-5 workday, so I can easily fit into your busy schedule. I'm available to help students in online classes or students preparing for standardized tests such as the ACT, SAT, SAT subjec tests, or certain portions of the GRE. My high school ACT score was a 36, with 800s on the math portion of the SAT and both SAT math subject tests. I am also a Goldwater Scholar and have astrophysics research published under my name. I look forward to working with you or your child!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Athens, GA 30606
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I communicate with students via video chat or in person. The platform is up to you, though I am most familiar with Skype and Facetime. In either type of session, I typically start with a short introduction followed by the student's self-assessment of the areas they need help in. The student should provide the practice material or textbook, and I will assist both verbally and visually. My method is having the student work through problems, explaining their thought process out loud so I can offer advice as needed. Problem-solving is the best way to learn math in my opinion.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have worked as a peer tutor at the University of Georgia for the past three years, tutoring math and physics. I was also a tutor for high school students in pre-calculus, AP Statistics, AP Chemistry, AP Calculus, and the ACT. I am one year away from completing a Bachelor's Degree in Astrophysics.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I typically charge $25 per hour, though rates can be negotiated based on length and frequency of sessions. I also offer discounted rates for tutoring two students at once. If the student is farther than 10 miles away and requests me traveling to them, there will be a small additional cost.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with middle school students (both high achiever students on math team and students in remedial math classes), high school students, and college students.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I just got back from Tanzania where I climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro. Now I'm ready to get back to teaching!


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What do I struggle with? What skills do I seem to lack? What do I succeed in? What skills am I good at?


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Statistics Help Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Precalculus Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Quantitative Reasoning Tutors Statistics Tutors