Clancy Tutoring

Clancy Tutoring

5.0

About this tutor

I am a graduate student studying science education at the secondary school level. I received an undergraduate degree from UGA in Ecology and Marine Science. I have 2 years of tutoring experience in Math, Science, and Writing at the 11th grade level. I was an Assistant Teacher for a year at UGA and worked during the Covid-19 pandemic in online teaching. 

I prefer to video call and engage in screen sharing so I can help my students. I also have a touch screen computer so that I can share my screen and use it as a white board to help illustrate ideas to students. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Athens, GA 30605
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to understand the ways in which you learn best. Would you prefer to talk over the phone or video? Or maybe it is easier for you to receive written instruction. I also like to know what kind of technological experience you have and what is expected of you from your school. What do you like about your teachers? What do you not like so that I can avoid these behaviors when working with you? 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Currently in a Science Education Master's program. While in undergrad, I tutored an 11th grade student in nearly every subject (mainly assisting with completion of homework and strengthening study skills). I worked in environmental education with grades 4-7 at a 4-H camp for 1 year following graduation. Then I co-taught an introductory ecology lab for undergraduates at UGA, providing instruction on ecology, excel, research skills, and more. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Pricing is negotiable! I understand the current financial state of the country and don't want to put any excess pressure on students that are already struggling in school. I strive to be reasonable with the pricing in terms of the work that is expected of me and the quality of tutoring that you are being provided. 


How did you get started teaching?

I initially tutored as a way to make money during my undergraduate career. After graduating from UGA, I worked at Rock Eagle, a Georgia 4-H camp that provides outdoor environmental education to students throughout the school year (K-12, but most frequently 4-8th grades). I loved interacting with these students and decided to pursue a career in science education. I moved back to Athens, GA and found an opportunity teaching college-aged students Ecology. This cemented by decision and I am currently in the MAT program for Science Education


What types of students have you worked with?

I currently have the most formal experience with students in late high school and early college. I have worked with students in elementary and middle school, but this was in an outdoor educational setting. I have also worked with students with minor disabilities such as ADHD and dyslexia.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for someone that is able to teach towards your learning styles. We teachers are best in advising students who learn the way we learn, but we are able to adapt to other styles. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What study methods have worked for you? What do your teachers do specifically that you enjoy or do not enjoy? What technology are you able to use so your tutor can prepare to help you study and learn?


Services offered

AP Environmental Science Tutors Biology Tutors Ecology Tutoring Marine Biology Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Earth Science Tutors Entomology Tutors Environmental Science Tutors Homework Help Tutors Life Sciences Tutors Math Tutors Microsoft Excel Training Microsoft Office Training Microsoft Powerpoint Training Middle School Math Tutors Personal Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors