Alex's Tutoring

Alex's Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 years in business

About this tutor

My name is Alexandra Rodriguez and I am a graduating senior at the University of Tampa. I am a double major in psychology and sociology. I absolutly love teaching and learning from my students. My specialties include psychology, reading, writing, research, essays, statistics, and study strategies. Depending on the level, I can assist with other subjects such as math, history, and basic biology and chemisty.

My experience includes my education of course, and I feel that I am well-rounded with the diverse courses I have taken. I am also experienced as a tutor, working with various students. I have worked with students aged 7 to 19 over the years. With my younger students I am able to help them go over the material, understand the subject, and go above and beyond the minimal requirements so they feel confident. I enjoy using different tactics for learning and studying, as every person is different. I introduce imagry, drawing, projects, practice quizzes, etc., to find the medium that will be optimal to each individuals learning style. 

I find this to be benificial for older students as well. Finding the best way to study, mangage time, and identify priorities efficiently helps will all course work. From personal experience, I find that older students like to have a partner to quiz them, study with them, and to explain the material to so that they themselves can solidify the material in their minds. I am avaible and look forward to assisting all students in whichever way would be benificial to them.

I will include a short list of qualifications, certifications, and accoplishments through my undergraduate years. My sophmore year I traveled to Jamica through the Global Service Initiative with Alpha Chi Omega to help build schools. I did an internship for Childhood Developmental Psychology for a year at the Centre for Girls. I completed an internship at Pepin Academy to learn about childhood learning disorders. I have been a certified nutrition specialist for almost 3 years, guiding other students in their health journies through my schools wellness program. I currently hold the position of finance coordinatior on the executive board of a school club called Spartans Seeking Justice. Also in my college career, I have presented at the undergraduate research symposium twice, and have been published through University of Tampa's Undergraduate Research Journal. I am currently in the process of publishing two other papers on the subject of religion, and on the subject of racial and ethnic relations. 

I am proficient in Microsoft Office, SPSS, and a variety of other programming used in educational systems. I have excellent communications skills, work well with people of all ages, and am passionate about constantly teaching and learning. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/alexandra-rodriguez97

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Tampa, FL 33606
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Isabella Arseneau

    Alex is such an amazing tutor. She helped me study for my statistics and psychology midterm and the way she explained it was perfect. I understood all the material right away and she helped me in a way that worked for how i learned best. I got really good grades on my exams because of her. 10/10 recommend!!!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My typical process for working with a new student includes a few steps. First of all, I like to get to know my students. I like to ask what their strengths and weaknesses are, which subjects they enjoy and why, and their favorite ways to study and get motivated.

Second, I like to set goals with my students. What are some goals for this week, for the end of the month, for the end of the semester/quarter/trimester? Establishing awards for each accomplishment is important.

Third, I like to work with the student on the material until they feel assured with their work and the steps. I help them develop studying skills for when I am not around so that they can be productive and confident when I am not around; although I will always be a phone call away with questions. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My pricing system for my lessons is case by case. It may depend on how long the sessions are, how far away the student is, and other factors. I am open for negotionation, and I am confident that together we can come up with a number that works for everyone. 


How did you get started teaching?

I got started teaching through babysitting. I have babysat children of many ages. Typically for the teens my primary job is to pick them up from school, help them with their homework, help them study, and help them with time management. I also have a younger cousins and a younger sister (ages 13-19) that I constantly work with on studying. My ability to come up with silly mnemonics helps people of all ages remember material for exams. I absolutly love watch other people finally starting to understand new material, so I am searching for more tutoring positions. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for a teacher that will interest you, support you, and use your strengths to learn new material.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

1. Will this teacher work with my personality?

2. Is this teacher motivated and passionate about helping me learn new material?

3. Is this teacher reliable, kind, supportive... but also able to push me to reach my full potential?


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Literature Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors