Math Tutoring With Shelby

Math Tutoring With Shelby

5.0 (6)
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

I’m an undergraduate studying mathematics and graphic design at the University of Florida, planning on staying through grad school for a master's in mathematics education. I also work with the math department at Santa Fe College as a Teaching Assistant. I've held this position for the past year and a half, and before that, I worked with a local mathematics tutoring company- altogether about 4 years of math teaching experience.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Gainesville, FL 32607
Email verified
Phone verified

6 Reviews

5.0

  • Candice Brower

    Patient, attentive and capable. So thankful to have found someone able to help my son through the most difficult parts of calculus!

  • billie

    She was really good at explaining the steps of each problem we went through and helped me really understand what I was learning

  • Faith Kirwan

    shelby is super kind & made math an enjoyable experience. she wouldn’t get frustrated when i struggled with certain topics and always made sure i understood the concept as well as the steps to get there! best tutor i have ever had in the subject. would not have gotten an A in precalc without her help (:

  • Justin Streeter

    Shelby is really a one of a kind tutor! You won’t find anyone who cares or tries as much as she does! She is knowledgeable in many different areas and if there is ever anything she doesn’t know she learns it as quickly as possible. If you want to pass your test, Shelby is definitely the tutor to book!


Show all reviews

FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

During our first session, the student and I will discuss the strengths and weaknesses they feel they have. We will work through some of their current material together so I can establish a baseline to grow from.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I'm a teaching assistant for the mathematics department at Santa Fe, and currently pursuing a bachelor's degree at the University of Florida.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

The way I typically approach rates is by charging per session instead of by the hour. This allows the student and me to work until they feel finished for the day. With that being said, depending on the course and preparation it takes on my part, prices range from $40-$80. I always ensure that the rate set fits the needs of both me and my client.


How did you get started teaching?

I asked my mathematics professor if I could be his TA!


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with students aged 4-18+, and I'm also experienced in working with students with special needs.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Developmental Algebra Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Multivariable Calculus Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Probability Tutors