Keating Tutoring

Keating Tutoring

4.8 (12)
12 hires on Tutors.com
2 years in business

About this tutor

For someone as young as myself, I’m able to teach quite a few subjects, including ones on the college level. I’m a certified peer tutor, previously worked as a tutor on a college campus, voted peer tutor of the year, and have had lots of experience tutoring even as early as middle school. I’ve been a college tutor for a year and a private tutor for many more than that. I’m very passionate about student success!

Knowing that I am part of helping students gain confidence in their own abilities and watch themselves succeed is incredibly rewarding. I thoroughly enjoy helping students find what learning style makes the most sense for them and leads them to cultivate the most knowledge. Academic success is half ability and half how you approach it, I hope I am always able to help with both. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Punta Gorda, FL 33950
Email verified
Phone verified

12 Reviews

4.8

  • Misty McAvoy

    Megan helped my daughter get from 1270 to a 1340 on her SAT. Her prices were very reasonable. She was able to work around my daughters crazy schedule and she loved working with Megan.

  • Misty McAvoy

  • Gerald Salzman

    Very nice, and helpful.

  • Janice Brady

    Megan Keating is FANTASTIC! My daughter was having a difficult time with Algebra 1 and Megan made it very understandable and now my daughter finally "Gets it!" I know I will be using Megan for other subjects as well. I highly recommend her!


Show all reviews

Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

All students are unique in learning styles, abilities, and much more. Usually, if it is a younger student, I speak to the parents about where they'd like the tutoring to lead to, goal-wise. If it is an older student, we speak about what their goals are and how we can achieve them. Some students just want to pass and others want to make a perfect score, I encourage all students to push themselves to do the absolute best they can.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I was required to take an entire course on how to be a tutor and different ways to help students succeed. Through this, I learned new learning styles, ways of speaking, and so much more. I also have an Associates Degree and am actively pursuing a Bachelors degree from the University of Florida.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with a very diverse group of students, including students with disabilities. I've tutored ages 5-50 in a wide variety of subjects. In my beginning days of tutoring, I taught a small group of students with learning disabilities. Though my business of 'Keating Tutoring' started this year, I have tutored for many years prior to this, many of which involved helping students with learning disabilities. I've tutored students returning to college, students fresh out of high school, students in elementary school and students in the middle of college. Every student is a different experience, each interesting and challenging in their own way. I enjoy a diverse group of students, as I always want to offer as much help to as many individuals as I possibly can. 


Services offered

Acoustic Guitar Lessons ACT Prep Tutors ACT English Tutors ACT Math Help Tutors ACT Reading Help Tutors ACT Science Help Tutors ACT Test Prep ACT Writing Help Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors American Government Tutors American History Tutors American Literature Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP English Tutors AP Government Help Tutors AP Macroeconomics Tutors AP Psychology Test Prep