Rader Math Tutoring

Rader Math Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

I tutor math because

1) I love math.

2) I love getting to build relationships with the students.

3) I get excited seeing students begin to understand and master concepts they had previously struggled with.

One of the qualities that has served me well as a tutor is that I am patient - I understand that each student works at a different pace and it's okay if students need extra time on certain concepts.

The students are what makes tutoring fun, - I love seeing the creativity in how different students approach different problems. And it's a joy getting to see the excitement of a student who has been struggling with a concept finally understand it.

I am excited for the opportunity to help students learn to approach math with confidence and no longer see it as scary, but fun!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Frisco, TX 75034
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Carrie B

    Olivia is one of the best math tutors I've ever had the privilege of working with! We used to work at a Mathnasium center together. She learned the teaching techniques quickly and does an excellent job of explaining math concepts to her students. Olivia also has a way of putting nervous students at ease. She's both calm and cheerful, and any students who had a lot of anxiety with math we would send right to Olivia's table. Olivia is just as skillful in teaching advanced math concepts as she is in explaining elementary principles. She is a rare gem. Your students would benefit greatly from working with her.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

It is important in tutoring that the tutor and student are a good fit in working together, so I begin by meeting the student, getting to know some about them and answering any questions they may have about me. 
After that, we dig right in and I use the first few sessions to pinpoint where the student most needs growth in their understanding. Once I have an understanding of where we need to focus, I direct the tutoring sessions to incorporate those concepts regularly.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I earned a degree in Mechanical Engineering from University of Colorado Colorado Springs.

My training as a tutor has mainly been through hands-on experience.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My standard pricing system is $55/hr. This pricing includes both the tutoring session and any time I spend preparing for the tutoring sessions.


How did you get started teaching?

My first tutoring job was for family friends whose daughters needed help with math. Later, I began tutoring at the learning assistance center at Pikes Peak Community College (PPCC) thanks to the recommendation of my math teacher at the time. I later worked at the PPCC math center and Mathnasium - The Math Learning Center, in addition to working as a private tutor.


What types of students have you worked with?

My experience with students ranges from early elementary to college students.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Make sure you are able to work well with the teacher and feel comfortable with them. Look for a teacher who is able to simplify rather than complicate concepts.


Services offered

Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors AP Calculus Tutors