Levis Tutoring

Levis Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
7 years in business

About this tutor

I'm a 20 year old second year biology student at UCCS. Since I was a high school student, I've enjoyed helping and teaching students learn many levels of math and science. It's a difficult subject to master for many, and I'm passionate about helping people not only raise their grades, but help others to genuinely understand mathematical concepts and hopefully even develop a fondness for the subject. 

I've helped many students of all ages raise their math grades by up to two letters by observing and catering to each individual's learning style. While I do not have any official training in teaching, I volunteered as a classroom aide in an elementary classroom and was a teacher's assistant for biology and introduction to physical sciences. I have been a tutor for many years and am passionate about helping students. I believe my young age is an advantage because as a student myself, I can identify with the modern scholarly experience and perhaps make younger kids more comfortable in their leaning experiences. 

The subjects in which I am experienced in tutoring range from elementary math to biocalculus (basic calculus I) and can work with children and teens, even if they struggle with a learning disability like ADHD. 

The "Aha!" moment when a student finally understands a concept after much hard work is a relief and honor as a tutor/teacher.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Colorado Springs, CO 80907
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first identify the area or type of problem with which a student is struggling and why the classroom teacher's methods aren't resonating with the him or her. I then apply different methods for the struggle until one eventually resonates with the student, and he or she is able to solve the problem on his or her own.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Although I have no "official" certification in teaching, I was a classroom aide in an elementary school for a semester, and was a teacher's assistant for biology and introduction to physical sciences in high school. I have been a tutor for many years and have helped students raise their grade by two letters in just a short period of time. I am in my fifth semester of college as a STEM major, and have taken and am able to tutor through biocalculus (calc I).


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Because of my age and lack of truly "professional" experience in this field, my going rate is on the low end of the spectrum at $21/hr. I am also willing to negotiate this price if necessary


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Precalculus Tutors Trigonometry Tutors