Amber, Secondary Math Tutor

Amber, Secondary Math Tutor

5.0Exceptional(6 reviews)
Offers online services
Offers online services


I am a now former high school math teacher. I have been told by my students over my 5-year teaching career that I am good at breaking down concepts in easier-to-understand terms. I am often told that my students favor me because I am approachable, relatable, and it is clear that I truly care about the success of every single one of my students.

My favorite part of the work I do is that light bulb moment when a student understands something they never thought they could, or when they realize they are able to correctly solve a problem on their own. I LOVE watching a student's confidence grow! And I LOVE sharing victorious moments with them!

*Weekend availability is limited*


1 employee
3 years in business
Serves Las Vegas , NV
Offers online services

Payment methods

Credit Card, Cash, Venmo, Apple Pay, Zelle


Grade level

Elementary school, Middle school, High school

Type of math

General arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Geometry


0 reviews


mykael T.

Amber takes the time to make sure you understand what she is teaching. Also, she always makes learning fun! Math was my least favorite subject and she made it more enjoyable!
... Show more
March 31, 2023


dayzie C.

Best high school math teacher I’ve ever had!!! Very accommodating and very thorough with teaching!!
... Show more
March 29, 2023


skye K.

she was very personable and accommodating to each student’s unique learning needs.
... Show more
March 29, 2023


adriannia P.

I failed matin from my freshman year to my senior year . When Amber became my teacher my senior year . She had to reteach me everything. I started with c &d and passed with an A . She breaks it down into a way you can understand it . And if you can’t understand it then she try’s a different way . I am currently in college and she helps me occasionally . Amazing teacher
... Show more
March 29, 2023


ximena S.

She always gave you opportunities to turn in work, extra help after or before school, she was very inspirational towards her students and took the time to listen to you when you needed to vent. Always an amazing and helpful teacher.
... Show more
March 29, 2023


lillian Y.

She was funny and kind. She always helped me learn in a way that worked for me. My grades were always failing and she helped bring them up by simply paying attention to me and helping me figure out how to do my work in a way that I understood. 10/10 amazing teacher!
... Show more
March 29, 2023

Frequently asked questions

I like to start by looking at the student's own notes/assignments to get a feel for how detailed of a tutoring job is needed. I have the student explain to me what they DO know. Then I start breaking down the concepts based on the student's needs.

I hold a Bachelor's of Science in Mathematics. I am a certified 7-12 Mathematics teacher. I also have  Special Education and English as a Second Language supplemental certifications. I have been tutoring since I was in college around 2010. I taught high school mathematics from 2015 - 2021.

I charge $30-$50 an hour depending on the subject(s) and how much time it takes me to prepare material for you.

I realized my first semester of college that I had a passion for mathematics and just couldn't see myself NOT in a classroom. I quickly changed my major from Art to Mathematics and haven't looked back since.

I have worked with students of varying ages (13 - 65). I have worked with students with learning disabilities, hearing impairments, ADD/ADHD, Autism Spectrum Disorder, emotional disabilities, etc. I have also worked with students of diverse cultural backgrounds and socioeconomic status.

When I moved from Dallas, Texas to Southern California, I drove for three days to get there and the beautiful view I got to see on the way was breathtaking! I am in love with the mountains that are ALWAYS in view!

First and foremost, look for a tutor you can realistically afford. Find someone you will respect. And someone who not only has the appropriate knowledge, but a true desire to see your growth.

How much knowledge DO you know? How fast of a pace do you want the tutor to work with you? How many hours a day are you wanting to work with a tutor? Do you have specific accommodations (IEP/504) that should be taken into consideration? What can a tutor do to make you feel comfortable? What are things you enjoy doing that a tutor could incorporate into your learning? What is your learning style preference (hands-on, observing, listening, visuals, etc., or a combo of many)?

Services offered