Maki Math And Writing Tutor

Maki Math And Writing Tutor

5.0 (2)
2 hires on Tutors.com

About this tutor

I have been tutoring for a long time now. I tutor my siblings, both older and younger than me, in their classes and they have found much success from my help. I also had a tutoring job at my college, which has helped me grow as a student as well. I am able to tutor in Math courses up to Algebra 2 or an equivalent class, and any courses that require researching and writing papers. 

I enjoy being able to see the student's reaction when they finally understand a concept or subject they had been struggling with. Knowing that I was able to make that happen pushes me to want to help more people.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Loomis, CA 95650
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Devan

    She knew how to make the material much more understandable because I couldn't figure out what the teacher had been trying to say. She worked with me at my pace and was very considerate of the fact that I learn a bit slower than others. Would definitely recommend!

  • Alex

    She was very knowledgable about my homework situation and was able to help me with all of it.She was also able to get me to understand the material better. I would definitely recommend her as a tutor!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I ask questions and discuss with the student what they are struggling with in school generally or in any specific subject. Then, I look over any material they provide to evaluate what kind of help they need. Finally, I give my feedback and advice on how the student can improve, working with them to create their own personalized tutoring experience because every student is different.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been educated in math up to AP Calculus and I have taken, and completed successfully, a Writing Consultant course that earned me a position as a peer tutor to my fellow college students in my college's Writing Center.  


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$15 per hour or $20 per edited paper. I am here to help any way I can and I would want to work out an agreement so that all students are able to receive the tutoring they need.


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring when I was 10 years old when I joined an after school program where I helped kids younger than me with their schoolwork.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students within a wide age range, from 6 to 24. This is because I have tutored my older sister, my younger sister, and my younger brother, and I have continued to do so successfully for some time.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I recently helped my younger sister with her math homework, which covered the concept of Systems of Linear Equations. The way her teacher had taught the concept just didn't make sense to her. I was able to reteach her the concept in a different way, and when she finally understood it, she was so happy that she wanted to do more and more practice problems.  


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Be patient because success does not happen over night. However, I will try to the best of my ability get you on track to understanding the subject(s) you are struggling with.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Questions that the students may have seen before, such as in classwork or in the textbook.


Services offered

Accounting Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Math Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors College Admissions Coaches College Tutors College Essays Help Tutors College Math Tutors Composition Lessons Creative Writing Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors