Math And Science Tutor

Math And Science Tutor

5.0(2 reviews)
Offers online services
Offers online services


Hello! I am 26, and a math and chemistry major. I have tutored people from elementary school to college, in a variety of subjects, but most commonly math and chemistry.

Everyone I have tutored thinks about problems in a different way, and I am super passionate about helping people get to a place where subjects feel intuitive.

I TAd for organic in college, and studied mostly math. I am willing to help with any subject, but am better at tutoring math and science. I am willing to do test prep, and can tutor chess.

Pricing can be negotiable, please dont hesitate to reach out with other questions.


Hired 4 times
1 employee
11 years in business
Serves Lewisville , NC
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Venmo, Paypal


Grade level

Pre-kindergarten, Elementary school, Middle school, High school, College / graduate school, Adult learner

Type of math

General arithmetic, Pre-algebra, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Pre-calculus, Calculus, Statistics


0 reviews


amanda F.

Jake helped my son to prepare for a pre-calculus test. He was very patient, helping my son to go through the steps to reason out the problem, rather than just lecturing or over-explaining. We highly recommend Jake for math tutoring.
... Show more
January 13, 2024
Hired on Tutors


Arletha A.

The flexibility with meeting times and the ability to offer detailed explanations to questions is most helpful. Jake took the time to get familiar with the class materials which has been helpful in understanding the structure of where my son is struggling. Hes a great listener! He will ask a question and than allow the student opportunity to answer vs. explain for them.
... Show more
March 20, 2021
Hired on Tutors

Frequently asked questions

My typical process is to ask the student for a selection of their work in the class/subject they are looking for tutoring in.  From there, I look to create lessons that help the student discover the reasoning behind the topics they are working on for themselves.  It is certainly can be pertinent to explain concepts outright, but whenever possible I like to let students find their own way to work through problems.  I've found learning that way to be the most helpful and impactful.

I am a math and chemistry majors, and I have been tutoring as a job for 12 years now.

Pricing is negotiable depending on subject and time, but typically ranges from $40-60 per hour.

My first paid teaching gig was my freshman year in high school.  I tutored an older student in exchange for scuba diving lessons from his dad.

I have worked with students from elementary school to college, and have experience with both ESL students and students with learning disabilities.

Services offered

Test Prep Tutoring