Sam's LBGTQ+ Friendly Tutoring

Sam's LBGTQ+ Friendly Tutoring

5.0 (1)

About this tutor

*LGBTQ+ affirming

*Specialize in help with motivation and organization

*Specialize in working with students with ADHD or on the autism spectrum.

*Helpful at connecting each student with resources that meet their needs

Helping students believe in themselves and their abilities-not everyone can or should have to learn the same way because we are not all the same person!  I want to help each student learn however works best for them.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Los Angeles, CA 90026
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Andrea Squires

    When I went back to college, I was having trouble keeping myself motivated and organized (I have ADHD), and I kept getting stuck on big projects and papers. Sam helped me figure out how to break these assignments down into manageable pieces and was really good at helping me think of ideas about what to write, what to do, and how to get started. They're super encouraging, so I could see them working well with younger students, too. Highly recommend!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to quickly chat with the student to get a sense of what they'd like to accomplish both big picture and in the time frame that day. Next, I try to figure out where they need the most support. As someone with a background in teaching, therapy, and meditation I often start by helping stressed students to ground themselves before launching into the work.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I graduated from Oberlin College, where I studied Linguistic Anthropology and Cogntive Sciences. I then went on to graduate school at California State University Northirdge for Marriage and Family Therapy. Additionally, I have worked for 1 year assisting in special education classrooms, 1 year teaching 5th grade Spanish, 2 months teaching ESL here and abroad, and 5 years tutoring individuals ages 5-20 (from algebra to ACT/SAT prep to elementary school reading comprehension). I also have 5 years of training as an associate marriage and family therapist.  During that time, I have been running psychoeducational groups in treatment facilities for teens and adults. In light of pandemic cutbacks, I am currently seeking additional income by returning to tutoring.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$30/1st hour, $25/each additional hour. However, if you low or no income right now, I am willing to be flexible.


How did you get started teaching?

I got started unofficially tutoring my peers who were struggling in high school algebra.  I then went on in freshman year to take a class in teaching that offered me an opportunity to teach a class at the local elementary school.


What types of students have you worked with?

5-20 years old- reading comprehension, essay writing, ACT/SAT, linguistics, ESL. I specialize in working with students who have ADHD or are on the autism spectrum.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I really enjoyed recently getting to work with a student who felt like he would never be able to get organized or motivate himself.  I helped work with him to identify a plan and to prioritize his needs as well as to begin to re-engage with his classwork. It was wonderful to see him regain some optimism and motivation.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Have a clear idea of what you would like help with out of the following:

1. Understanding the information/clarity

2. Organization/planning

3. Focus

4. Motivation

5. Getting started

6. Or something else entirely

This is a starter list - select any/all options to give us an idea of where to start :)


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What kind of style works best for you?

My personal style is directive, goofy, and compassionate. I firmly believe in all my students and am here to support you.


Services offered

English Tutors AP English Tutors American Literature Tutors British Literature Help Tutors College Essays Help Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Phonics Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Speech Tutors Spelling Tutors