Women In Mathematics Tutoring

Women In Mathematics Tutoring

5.0

About this tutor

I've been working as a Math tutor for the last 7 years. Unlike many of my competitors, I focus on teaching my students the ability to work and learn on their own. If they stop needing me-- it's the best day. 

I also work mainly with girls and students with disabilities-- As I am a Female in Mathematics who has a chronic illness.

Girls are too often rushed away from the sciences come puberty, and the way that mathematics curriculum are written is biased and doesnt cover a wide array of learning styles.

My Experience Includes: 
Tutoring at Foothill Community College, in the Adaptive Learning Department. 
Tutoring at Mathnasium Sunnyvale
Privately tutoring for the Los Altos/Mountain View Community.

Currently I am a senior at Santa Clara University, Major in Mathematics, Minor in Computer Science, with an emphasis in Data Science. 

I enjoy the sense of acheivement my students get once they flourish. I have several past-students now who are in their last years of High School, ready to take on the world as women in science. 

I have a passion for math that comes out when I teach. Since I've worked with adaptive learning departments, I know a wide array of ways to explain any one topic. I do so enthusiastically. 
When my students see my enjoyment, see how I make math funny or fun, they too become excited. 

There's nothing better. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Cupertino, CA 95014
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I always have a preliminary meeting where I work with the student for one hour. As we work on their homework I ask them questions about their process, how long it takes them to complete their work, how they do on tests etc. 
I get a good feel for what kind of student they are and how to best help them. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I'm a math major at Santa Clara University. I am 25, so older than the average student-- but this I think relates well. When I was 18 I needed to make it on my own, parents wouldnt help me out, and this led me to tutoring. 

I put myself through community college tutoring in mathematics, and realized that I had a real passion for math. I changed my major to math and applied to a four year when I was on my own FAFSA. 

Showing by example to my students that passion and dedication will get them where they want to go. 

I have training in socratic styles, adaptive learning, and many other types of tutoring-- but I feel these are less important. 

As for my math skills, I think they speak for themselves. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My pricing is hourly and usually is the rate of 40$/hr. 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors College Math Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Math Tutors