Gabe’s Math Tutoring

Gabe’s Math Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

Hello! My name is Gabe Platt. I’m in my 3rd year of college at UCLA studying Economics. After graduation I want to work in education administration. I’ve been a tutor for over 3 years specializing in math and science. My experience is primarily in high school level math such as Geometry, Algebra II, and Precalculus, but I have experience tutoring Biology, Physics, and English as well. I enjoy helping others get the most out of what they do. Academically, this means working to make sure my students fully understand the material and feel confident in their knowledge to best prepare them for success!

I truly enjoy helping people achieve their goals and find confidence in an area where they once lacked. Teaching and tutoring is about doing exactly that, so I find it to be rewarding work!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Los Angeles, CA 90024
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Mia Simin

    He was patient when I didn’t understand something, and found different, abstract ways to help me understand concepts that worked best with my learning style.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

A conversation before the first sesssion about learning style and techniques that work for them is always a solid starting point. Beyond that, in the first few sessions observing and discussing a student’s strengths and weaknesses within a subject is critical for properly focusing on areas that need improvement. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I’ve worked as a volunteer tutor for low-income students in Echo Park for 3 years. The students mainly need help in Math, and they range from ages 6-17. I’ve also worked as a self organized Math Tutor for the past 3 years, tutoring in all levels of middle and high school math. I’ve truly enjoyed my time in both experiences.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I have a flat rate of $20/hr for any lesson!


How did you get started teaching?

I started Tutoring my Junior year of high school. I fell in love with the sentiment of helping others, and found out I’m actually quite good at it. Virtually all of my students get the grade, score, or achievement they set out for!


What types of students have you worked with?

My students have been from all different ages, backgrounds, and socioeconomic levels. I’m open to tutoring anybody as long as you have a strong commitment to learning. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

A recent student of mine was a senior in high school, needing to pass Algebra II to attend a 4-year Univerisity. In her second semester she was failing, and we worked to improve her grade to a B+, allowing her to start at CSU San Marcos this past fall. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for somebody who is not only qualified in the subject matter, but committed to working with you to improve. The most effective tutor/student relationship includes active engagement and commitment from both sides.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What type of learner are you? (Visual, Auditory, or Kinetic)

What are your academic goals, and what do you need to do in your current situation to achieve them?

What makes learning enjoyable for you?


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors