Viking Tutoring

Viking Tutoring

5.0 (2)
3 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Hi! 

My name is Amogh- I’m a graduating senior at Inglemoor High School who’s going to be a first-year student at Dartmouth College, an Ivy League university located in New Hampshire, this upcoming year. 

I’m a full International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma student and received a 36/36 on my ACT. I'm the president of my high school's HOSA (Future Health Professionals) and FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) chapters and intern at the Institute of Systems Biology as a Systems Medicine Ambassador. 

My services would be much cheaper than those of other hired professionals, and I could provide further insight on what elementary school, middle school, high school, and AP/IB classes are like, as I’ve either recently taken them or are currently taking them.  

I can tutor all subjects up to 12th grade, and can also teach the piano to anybody interested (I’m on the National Honor Roll for the National Piano Playing Auditions). I’m especially interested in tutoring English, Writing, Biology, Algebra, Geometry, the PSAT, the SAT, and the ACT. 

I love working with people- I have an abundance of experience working with younger children, as I’ve volunteered frequently with the YMCA and the City of Kenmore, and I’ve been a WEB (Where Everybody Belongs) and LINK (freshmen orientation leader at Inglemoor) at Northshore Middle School and Inglemoor High School. I genuinely enjoy helping others learn, and love working with all types of students, ranging from 4-year-olds to 19-year-olds. 

Helping others learn also helps me to retain more information in my mind, which makes tutoring an especially exciting job for me. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Kenmore, WA 98028
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Anissa Flowers

    Amogh was an amazing tutor for my daughter! He worked with her for two months on the SAT, and helped her increase her score from a 1420 to a 1580! We were very impressed by the combination of his professionalism and genuine desire to help, and he was also a very fun teacher to learn from as well! He even offered to help my daughter with her college application essays for free! All in all, we had an amazing experience, and recommend Amogh to all future students looking for a tutor.

  • Dylan Cook

    Amogh worked with me on the ACT. After four months of online tutoring, I saw my score increase from a 28 to a 34. Compared to other tutors, he was more lighthearted and friendly, and always created an engaging learning environment.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

During my first meeting with a student, I like to discuss the personal and educational goals that they hope to achieve, and then begin creating a personalized study and course plan that will allow the student to reach those goals to the best of their ability. This plan is very flexible and can be modified based on the demonstrated growth that each student shows. 

During this initial meeting with a student, I also like to make as meaningful as a connection with them as possible; I want to make my tutoring as enjoyable and engaging as possible, and part of that is making sure my students are always comfortable and not afraid of making mistakes.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have just completed the International Baccalaureate (IB) program at Inglemoor High School and finished in the top 1% of my high school class while doing so. The IB program is a rigorous and holistic educational experience that has exposed me to all of the humanities and STEM as well. 

Furthermore, due to my recent experience in taking the SAT/ACT and advanced classes in high school, I can provide more current and relatable study strategies and skills that will help students succeed. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My pricing system can be negotiated and depends on the type of course and age of my student. For further information, please reach out to me! However, my standard rate for personalized SAT/ACT tutoring is about $50 per hour. 


How did you get started teaching?

My mother is a High School Biology teacher and has exposed me to the field of education from a young age. As I was looking for ways to begin saving up for college, my mother recommended that I begin tutoring. I tried it out and greatly enjoyed the job. 

Entering college, I do not have plans to become a full-time teacher in the future, but I really enjoy tutoring students, as it helps me to retain information and provides immense satisfaction through the ability to help students reach their goals. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with all types of students, from high schoolers looking for help on the SAT/ACT, to middle schoolers needing essay help, to elementary school students requiring further assistance on reading. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Recently, I just received my certificate signifying that I had completed the IB program at Inglemoor High School. It meant a lot to me, as it represented the culmination of the work I had done in high school. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Focus on fit! It's really important that a student is able to find someone who they're comfortable with in regard to tutoring. If you're not comfortable with a tutor, it can create a tense environment in which the student is afraid of making mistakes and taking risks, which can stunt the student's improvement. So when looking to hire a teacher, find someone who can really connect with you in a meaningful fashion. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

1. What are my personal and academic goals? 

2. What are my strengths and weaknesses in the classroom? 

3. How do I learn best? 

4. Why do I want a tutor? 

5. What do I believe a tutor can provide me with? 

6. What do I want out of this tutoring experience?


Services offered

College Essays Help Tutors AP English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors English Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Piano Lessons Homework Help Tutors IB Tutors Private Tutors Summer Tutors Study Skills Tutors Marketing Training Tutors Management Training Coaches Negotiation Trainers Leadership Development Training Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors