English Tutoring

English Tutoring

5.0 (2)

About this tutor

As a tutor, I strive for flexibility and adaptability in my approach. Every student is different and one of my favorite things about tutoring is the constant challenge to design and implement an approach that best fits each individual. I have a lot of experience both teaching and being taught one-on-one in various academic subjects and athletic activities, which has given me a keen awareness of different coaching styles and how they affect a student's progress. 

I've always enjoyed the satisfaction of mastering a new concept or receiving a grade that reflects the hard work I put into understanding a certain set of subject material. Sometimes that required reaching out and seeking help when I needed it, in a subject area where I struggled. As a tutor it's my pleasure to help extend that sense of satisfaction and accomplishment to others, as well as to provide a safe and judgment-free learning space. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Buckley, WA 98321
Email verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Amanda Schendzielos

    Great tutoring experience. Pushed for improvement but wasn't judgmental. Appreciate how she finds challenging game-type ways to master subject material.

  • Christine Anthony

    Hailey tutored me in french in high school. It helped me a lot when I was getting ready for finals and projects. She explains things clearly and she's good at finding different ways to go at or learn a topic until something sticks.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

With a new student, I typically begin by reviewing current assignments or progress in the subject to get a sense of what is required as well as the student's current skill level. From there, I identify areas of strength and weakness and work out a plan to develop new skills and meet the assignment or class goal. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

As a student at Dartmouth, I have worked in a number of different study groups and student mentor/mentee programs that have given me a lot of experience with teaching as well as with being taught by my peers. Ski instructing in particular taught me to be a flexible teacher willing to adjust my style for different students. I volunteered as a regular peer tutor in several subjects in high school as well. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Typically I charge $15-20 an hour depending on the subject matter. 


How did you get started teaching?

My French teacher gave me an opportunity, as a high school sophomore, to earn extra credit by helping several French 1 students prepare for their final exam. I discovered that year that I really enjoyed tutoring, and I continued to volunteer as a peer tutor throughout high school. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I've taught predominantly with high school students, although I have acted as a tutor to several peers in college as well. 


Services offered

English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Grammar Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Spelling Tutors