Progress Tutoring

Progress Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

Hello all! My name is Ms. Kiana L. and I am grateful you've taken the time to view my profile. A little about me: I currently work as a college professor of English and tutor K-12 students in my free time. I have a BA in English from Radford University and an MA in English Studies from Arizona State University. I began tutoring K-12 students six days a week in April 2019. My specialties include Reading Comprehension, Writing, Language Arts/English, Study Skills, and Test Preparation (SOL, SAT, ACT, Accuplacer, TEAS, etc.). 

I enjoy tutoring K-12 students because I like to see students make progress (hence the name Progress Tutoring). Each student has unique needs, and I take great pride in developing a system/routine that works best for the student. My goal is to collaborate with parents, teachers, and the student to ensure we meet all of their academic needs outside of the classroom. 

If you would like to schedule a brief phone call (15-30 minutes) to discuss your needs or to ask questions, please contact me via email at [email protected] Thank you for your time and consideration. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Chesterfield, VA 23832
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Mahrosh Gill

    Miss Love is an incredible person with a bright personality and has excellent teaching skills. She is an experienced, patient, and engaging tutor. Miss Love has helped me tremendously by helping me write papers and providing valuable suggestions for making my writing better.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to start the process with a brief phone call to determine and discuss student needs. The phone call can last anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes. After we have discussed needs, I will send a quoted hourly rate, suggest session lengths and frequency, and once hired, we will schedule the first session. During the first session, I am evaluating the student's abilities to assist with further developing a tutoring plan that fits their needs. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

English, BA

English Studies, MA

3 year's experience as a professional tutor (K-12)


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Hourly rates range from $35/hr to $50/hr. The rate is determined based on student needs. Higher hourly rates are for students working on specific assignments (lengthy essays, speeches, projects, etc.). 


How did you get started teaching?

At a young age, I knew I was destined to be an educator. Though I did not take a traditional route towards a career in education, I took a liking to tutoring. After receiving my MA in English Studies, I began teaching at the college level. I find outstanding balance in helping and educating students of all grade levels.  


What types of students have you worked with?

K-12, test preparation students (SAT, ACT, etc.), and college students. 


Services offered