Divide And Conquer Math

Divide And Conquer Math

5.0 (1)
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

Math has always been a favorite subject for me, and I have helped teach my SIX YOUNGER SIBLINGS as the oldest child in a large family. My background also includes Peer Tutoring at Thomas Nelson Community College. I have a degree in Aerospace Engineering from Virginia Tech with a minor in Mathematics 

The only thing I love more than math is seeing students learn about it! It is such a joy to pass along the beauty in patterns and numbers. I consider it to be an honor to share this world with others, no matter how old or young

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Newport News, VA 23606
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Marwan Ghabour

    Rachel was very knowledgeable and patient in helping tutor. She answered all my questions to the fullest which helped me understand the concepts we went over.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I believe that I can't give directions without knowing where the student is now. The process always begins with me asking questions of the student's undertsanding of the subject, and teaching me what they know! Most of the time I find that the student already knows how to solve it, they just need to be asked the right questions 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been a Peer Tutor at Thomas Nelson Community College for a little over a year, specializing in basic math up to Calculus! In addition to tutoring experience, I also (unoffically) have a Mathmatics minor from Virginia Tech :)


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $30/hr


How did you get started teaching?

I've been teaching my siblings on and off since I was little. When I was a student at my community college, I applied for a tutoring position in Math, Chemistry, Physics and other Engineering-related subjects. Although I am a little fuzzy on subjects like Chemistry, my confidence in Math has remained relatively strong and I'm excited to continue tutoring! 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with my younger siblings with Algebra, a little bit of Calculus and Trigonometry. At communty college I have had experience teaching peers my age as well as adults just getting back into Math after 20 years, as well as some special needs students 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Over spring break, I got to help out with an after school program for kids in Wilmington, DE. At the end of the day, the other students from VT and I would play Sardines in the church we were staying in... the building was huge! It took us an hour to find Brian one night


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Applied Mathematics Tutors