All Things Tutoring

All Things Tutoring

5.0 (2)
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

Within my English major at Hillsdale College, I studied literature across all genres and periods and wrote comprehensive analyses on works from Beowulf to The Great Gatsby. My minors are in Classical Education and Classical Studies, which consist of the arts of teaching and the learning from the model of the ancients. After graduating in 2017 I taught 1st Grade at a public charter school and then tutored K-2 reading at a conventional public school in 2018. I have been tutoring students (elementary to high school) since I was in high school. I continued through college and in my work after graduating.

Throughout my life I have attended private Christian schools and taken a plethora of religious and theological courses in both general World Religions and specific Christian studies. My understanding of religion in general is fortified by my study of the classical, ancient civilizations in my undergraduate degree.

My passion for learning and teaching began with reading great books as a child and having excellent teachers throughout grade school, high school, and college. Passing on the wonder of the word is my delight.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Jacksonville, NC 28540
Email verified
Phone verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Kelly Le

    Awesome! Jessica helped me brainstorm ideas for my essay assignment. She gave me a better understanding of any concerns I had. I recommend her with anyone struggling in English or weak with writing!

  • Kelly Le



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I first take time to ask about the student's goals and then narrow in on a specific task while assessing the best way to assist the students.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

$25 per 60 min. session within 20 miles of Quantico

$5 extra per 10 miles thereafter


How did you get started teaching?

I've always been intersted in teaching. I began tutoring and developing reading programs in high school, then proceeded to college where I studied English with a minor in Classical Education. There I also volunteered in elementary schools and conducted a teaching apprenticeship. After graduating I taught 1st Grade full time before tutoring elementary through high school students.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with a number of students at various skill levels for their age and grade. Such students inlcude those with IEPs, 504s, and ADHD.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Where am I struggling?

What is my specific challenge?

What can I do to improve on my own?

What precise questions can I ask my teacher so they can better assist me?

How much time am I willing to spend on improving this need?


Services offered

ACT English Tutors ACT Writing Help Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors Bible Studies Lessons British Literature Help Tutors Classics Tutors College Admissions Coaches College Essays Help Tutors College Tutors English Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Field Hockey Coaches Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Homeschool Tutors & Teachers Homework Help Tutors