Kognitalearning

Kognitalearning

5.0
2 employees
10 years in business

About this tutor

My career in education has spanned twelve years, four countries and three continents. I’ve been a public and private school classroom teacher, a curriculum consultant and a teacher evaluator.

I specialize in project-based, experiential learning that is informed by decades of experience and evidence-based educational theory.

I am passionate about the creative side of education: learning through games, social awareness, art and music! I’m dedicated to keeping myself and my colleagues informed of the most up-to-date pedagogical research and best practices. I dream of, and am actively working toward, creating a world where quality education is accessible to teachers and learners of all abilities, cultural backgrounds and interests.

Come change the world with me!

I speak English, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese.

Feel free to visit my website to learn more:

www.kognitalearning.com

I absolutely love the confidence and sense of purpose that a learner has when they have mastered a topic!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Falls Church, VA 22042
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Getting to know the student is of the utmost importance.

I generally speak with the parent or guardian about why they are seeking out a personal tutor. Additionally, if possible, it is helpful to be in contact with the child's learning support coordinator or teacher to make sure that the work I am doing is supporting their school work.

When the student and I first meet, it is key that we have fun and establish an environment of trust, confidence and curiosity about learning. We play break-the-ice games and they show me what they are most proud of!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am currently working on completing my Masters in Education at University College London, whose Institute of Education is ranked first in the world.

I completed my Post Graduate Certificate in Education from the University of Essex in 2020.

As a social and emotional learning coordinator, I have done coursework and training in recognizing and accomodating for trauma in the classroom as well as various workshops on positive participation and human development and learning.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

For students based in the United States, I have a base rate of $30 dollars per hour.

For students based in Europe, my base rate is 35€ per hour. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started teaching as a summer camp art and drama instructor when I was 15 years old!

After getting my undergraduate degree in music, I taught private violin and piano lessons and visual arts class in private schools in the Washington, D.C. area.


What types of students have you worked with?

My career first started with private students and teaching jobs in private schools. However, for the past three years I have chosen to work exclusively in public schools and with students with learning difficulties.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Last year as the COVID-19 health emergency forced my high school here in Rome, Italy to go fully online, I had my English students create their own final projects. One particularly challenging group of 10th graders rose to the occasion by planning a mock Model UN conference over Zoom to discuss the current crisis and brainstorm solutions. It was fantastic!


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

There are many different schools of thought regarding approaches to teaching and learning. I would suggest that the student ask the teacher what their personal philosophy of learning is and make sure that it is in line with the student's own view of education!


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

1.) How much time do I have to commit to personal tutoring?

2.) What motivates me and what do I find the most challenging?

3.) What do I want the adults around me to provide? What am I willing to bring to the table?


Services offered

English Tutors ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Reading Tutors Spelling Tutors World Literature Tutors