Michelle Gelman Tutoring K-10th

Michelle Gelman Tutoring K-10th

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

I am currently a junior enrolled in all AP classes with a 4.7 GPA ans straight A record.  My passions include chemistry, math, and physics, but I have no issue tutoring in other subjects. My biggest interest is in nanotechnology, and I have done international internships in Russia to learn more about it.I have tutored elementary kids in the past with success in math, and have experience with high school students as well. I am a martial arts instructor and am around kids of all ages. My job gives me the leadership, character, and instructional qualities that make me a suitable mentor. I can handle large groups very well, as well as  one on one personal lessons. Tutoring is more than a job; it's a personal experience where I am willing to put in the time to see my students achieve their full potential. With a little practice, I believe everyone can become successful and confident. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Katy, TX 77450
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I go over the material the student needs to learn and base my lesson around the specific material. I assess the level the student is at,  and from there establish a reasonable pace. A typical lesson planner from me would include an in depth interactive explanation, work together practice problems, independent practice problems, interactive explanations, study techniques, a Review of materials covered, and extra practice problems/ materials post lesson. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been a local tutor for a year for elementary kids mostly in math. My experience, however, also extends to high school students in sciences and math. I am a martial arts instructor and have lots of experience with instruction and kids of all ages.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My staring pricing is $20 hourly, but it's is negotiable based on the materials covered and every personal experience.


How did you get started teaching?

I had picked it up as a hobby on the side, as I am very passionate about school. I have loved helping students and peers teach what I know to see them better succeed; it's a great feeling knowing I can transform lives. 

 As for martial arts, it's been a big passion for me every since I was little. Since then, I have become a certified teacher for martial arts and enjoy working with kids daily. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with kids in pre-k, elementary, middle school, and high school.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I have recently done a camp at Berkeley for biotechnology and obtained a lot of hands on lab experience and knowledgeable over my future career field.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a tutor in your area of expertise?

I am very vestatile; my subjects include math, chemistry, biology, Spanish, and English. I have experience with all ages, so the difficult of materials of the course are not an issue and I tailor the lessons accordingly. For math and science kids, don't  just memorize! Take time to understand the concepts behind the process. It might be quicker to remember an acronym, but if you learn the concept of how something works you'll remember it better in the long term. 


What questions should students think through before talking to tutors about their needs?

I do not have any specific questions. I would hate to waste youre time! I would like to know the goals of our tutoring sessions, so I can can adequately prepare and accommodate your needs. 


Services offered

Grammar Tutors Handwriting Tutors Reading Tutors Proofreading Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors AP Physics Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Math Tutors Algebra Tutors English Tutors