Ms. LeFlore’s Learning Legacy

Ms. LeFlore’s Learning Legacy

5.0 (1)

About this tutor

I have been tutoring/teaching for 8 years, so I have experience with all levels of students. I am also, technically, still "college-aged", so I can be more relatable to high school and college students than someone who has been teaching for 20+ years.

I love nothing more than seeing my students grasp a concept they have been struggling with. I became a teacher because I love seeing people succeed.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Plano, TX 75074
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Audra and Nic Poupore

    Ms. LeFlore is an excellent choice for a tutor! We needed her help with math, a subject our daughter had struggled with. After just a couple of weeks we saw a major improvement in her confidence. Ms. LeFlore was particularly effective in honing in on areas that our daughter had really struggled in and made a HUGE difference. She really understands how to reach children in a way that is not intimidating or stressful, making for a really positive learning experience! Highly recommend!! Our daughter really found a love for math and an understanding that she CAN do it and isn’t just “bad at math”. Changed her perspective and self confidence so much, we are grateful for the time our daughter had with Ms. LeFlore.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to start with reading passages or writing assignments to give me an idea of the level of my students. I then do different activities to discover how my students learn best. Once I've accomplished these steps I am able to target problem areas.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have my teaching certificate in 7-12 English Language Arts and Reading and K-12 in theatre. I am currently teaching theatre and speech in Dallas ISD, but have taught English and reading in the past. I have also taught math to homeschooled students, tutored math for college students, and do ACT/SAT test prep.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $30/hr, but if you want multiple sessions a week I will lower my charge to $25/hr.


How did you get started teaching?

I've been tutoring English, Reading, Math, and Science since I was 17. I was given the opportunity to teach math to homeschooled students while in college and decided I wanted to teach.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students aged 11-65. I also have training with autistic, dyslexic, and ESL students.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find someone who tries to learn about you. If your tutor/teacher does not take the initiative to find out what you like and how you learn they will not be as successful in helping you achieve your goals.


Services offered

English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors American Literature Tutors British Literature Help Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Fiction Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Public Speaking Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Middle School Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Math Tutors