Experienced Tutor: Many Subjects, All Ages

Experienced Tutor: Many Subjects, All Ages

5.0
1 hire on Tutors.com
1 employee
9 years in business

About this tutor

I have 8 years of private tutoring experience, and have taught individuals aged 5-25. I have experience in many subjects, including elementary education (reading, writing, science, social studies, and math), algebra, high school and college level biology and chemistry, psychology, writing, and piano. I am an especially excellent tutor in writing, including essays, technical/scientific writing, creative writing, and even resumes and college applications. 

I am a natural caregiver with a love of teaching from a young age. I used to play school with my stuffed animals as a child, and still pursue that passion to this day. I love learning and sharing my knowledge with others, and helping people achieve their goals. To me, there is nothing better than seeing a client as excited about a subject as I am! I also love to create a comfortable learning environment with breaks to have fun conversations, so I endeavor to connect with every student's personality to best cater to that. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Houston, TX 77059
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I want to understand their goals so I can prepare to help them achieve them. As I begin to work with the student, I aim to get a feel of their best learning style and tailor my teaching to fit it. I also want to get to know them so we will get along well and hopefully have fun while learning!


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelor of Science in Biology with a minor in Psychology. I graduated from the University of Houston in May 2020 with a 3.84 GPA. I have tutored in many subjects over the past eight years and have taught students from ages 5-25. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $30 per hour for elementary-high school education, and $40 per hour for college subjects. 


How did you get started teaching?

I have always loved teaching! I am the oldest of four children, and am a natural caregiver. I always loved getting the opportunity to help out classmates or train new employees at work. I began tutoring in high school when a babysitting client reached out to me for help with her daughter's reading and writing skills. After that, I found more clients and have tutored in a variety of subjects, including algebra, chemistry, biology, elementary school subjects (math, science, english, and social studies), and piano.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students aged 5-25, including students with special needs. I also have experience helping students overcome anxiety when it comes to learning and testing. 


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I took two brothers that I tutor to Space Center Houston because they love science and space. We had a blast looking at the attractions and learning in such a special environment. It was rewarding to watch them learn and share the knowledge they already had about a subject I also love. I had plans to take them to the Natural History Museum as well, but we have not gotten to go because of the pandemic. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Try to find someone who you feel comfortable with, and whose personality meshes well with yours. It's great to learn from someone you relate to. Also, try to figure out the best ways that you learn and share these with potential tutors so they know how to best teach you. If you don't know how you learn best, let them know that and you can find it out together! 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What are your goals? How long do you want to have a tutor? Will you need a tutor for help with general homework, or just when it's time for a test? What are barriers you're looking to overcome when it comes to your learning? Do you need help with study skills and time management as well as the subject you're looking to get help for? How much time per week do you need a tutor for? 


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Analytical Chemistry Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Intermediate Algebra Tutors Anatomy Tutors AP Biology Tutors AP Chemistry Tutors Biology Tutors Chemistry Tutors Evolution Tutors Evolutionary Biology Tutors Genetics Tutors Life Sciences Tutors Science Tutors