High Plains Math Tutoring

High Plains Math Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

       I have a unique Bachelor's Degree from Texas Tech University that intertwines Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, and Communication Studies.  This degree plan taught me how to not only comprehend and solve advanced scientific and mathematical problems but how to communicate the logical thought process that was used to obtain the solution.  Being able to logically explain the step by step process needed to solve these problems helps others understand how and why things work the way they do.

     This has helped me tutor friends, family, and colleagues throughout the years, and every person I have tutored walked away with a better understanding of the material.  Through my tutoring experience, I learned that I have a passion for teaching others which has led me to pursue it professionally. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lubbock, TX 79424
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

The very first thing I do with a new student is explain to them that every person learns and understands things differently, and just because they might need help with a specific subject doesn't mean that they don't have the ability to understand it; it just means that they need it explained to them in a different way. 

Next, I find out what the students interests are, that way when we are working through the material I can relate it to the things that they're familiar with.

The last thing I do when working with a new student is to have them work through some material to see their thought process, what they are comfortable with, and what they struggle with.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

A degree that involves explaining scientific and mathematical processes in a logical, concise, and easy to understand manner.

Professional experience as a journalist that required the ability to relate, understand, and have a dialogue with a wide range of personalities and individuals from different demographics.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I have an hourly rate of $50.


How did you get started teaching?

I started when a family member of mine who was struggling with geometry, and I continued to help others from that point on.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with a wide arrange of students, and every student is different.  So I cant catorgorize them into specific types.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

My little brother being excepted into med-school.  I helped him through all of his math and science classes since he started school, and seeing him excel at the highest level was a dream come true


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Find what fits your personality.  Its not that you can't understand the material, its that you havn't had it explained to you in a way that makes since to you.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Is this something that I am willing to put effort torwards.  


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Basic Math Tutors Analytical Geometry Help Tutors