Bee's Knees Tutoring

Bee's Knees Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

At Bee's Knees Tutoring, you'll get time with a certified elementary teacher with over 7 years experience tutoring, and 2 years experience teaching. I love working with students of all ages and have recently enjoyed being a 5th grade English teacher for the past school year. My tutoring experience covers a wise range of subjects, including English literature, junior high to college level essays, flute, and beginning Chinese. I have worked with all kinds of students and am here to help you achieve your goals while having fun, too! 

I am a huge fan of always learning, and getting to help others do that is really enjoyable. Teaching students to work to independently solve their problems and learn when to ask for help is the best strategy to ensuring they develop self-sustaining study habits.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Copperas Cove, TX 76522
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Meg Gallagher

    Best tutor I've ever had!! Alyssa is extremely down to earth and comforting in the tutoring process, I felt challenged in a way that wasn't overwhelming so I really made progress :)



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

In working with new students, I typically spend time getting to know them and what they want to learn first! Then we will get to work on lessons, and I'll over prepare material so I can match their pace. I will see what my students' preferred workload is and adjust to ensure they are comfortable and enjoying themselves.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a bachelor's degree in English with a minor in Philosophy, have taken a alternative teacher certification course, 2 years of experience teaching, and 7 years of experience tutoring others in a wide variety of subjects. I am currently working as a 5th grade elementary school teacher.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My standard pricing system depends on the topic, but my starting price is $15 per half hour. This is flexible and can be negotiated per your needs.


How did you get started teaching?

I first started in high school tutoring other high school students on playing the flute and writing essays. After I went to college at Texas State University, I began tutoring students there in writing essays and Chinese. I spent two years as a paid beginning Chinese tutor and went on two study abroad trips to China, too. Once I graduated early from college in I started work as a long-term History substitute while working on my teacher certification. After that, I started work as a elementary school teacher, and have been teaching 5th grade english ever since!


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages and backgrounds, including some that are even older than me! My experience includes time with ESL/ELL students, SpEd students, and GT/GE students, so I have skills with both remediation and enrichment for students of all levels.


Services offered

English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors British Literature Help Tutors Classics Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors ESOL Tutors Handwriting Tutors Introduction to Fiction Tutors Introduction to Poetry Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Medieval Literature Tutors