Ryan Coker Math And English Tutoring

Ryan Coker Math And English Tutoring

5.0

About this tutor

My primary goal as a teacher is to maximize student growth and improvment by simplyfing complex concepts and encouraging creative problem solving. Rather than requiring students adhere to some arbitrary process, if a student can develop their own methods that are reliable and efficient, I do not waste time making them learn to do it my way. Standardized tests, college professors, and the real world do not require such rigidity if it negatively impacts results.

The thing I find most enjoyable about working as a tutor is helping to catalyze "a-ha" moments in students. These come in two forms, one in which a concept or problem finally clicks after causing a student to struggle, and another in which a student is able to correctly parse out the details of a newly introduced concept using their previously acquired understanding. While both are equally rewarding, the latter instance indicates to me a greater level of student growth.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Southlake, TX 76092
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Typically, when starting with a new student, I attempt to determine whether or not any of their interests can be used as a backdrop for whatever subject they may be having difficulties with. I follow this with a basic assessment up to and slightly beyond the level what I expect an average student of their age would be capable of to determine strengths and weaknesses so that I may plan around them.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have one year of experience tutoring. During that time I:

•Worked as a general tutor for a special needs teenager.

•Assisted a special needs pre-teen with writing and grammar.

•Led two small essay-writing groups for a local home school organization.

•Prepared one young teenager for the math, reading, and writing portions of early college entrance tests, which he passed.

•Tutored a teenager struggling with pre-algebra and writing.

Additionally, I have two years of experience as a taekwondo instructor and currently operate a non-profit historical fencing club as the primary instructor.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Individual pricing is $25.00/hr in person or $18.00/hr online.

Group pricing is $40.00/hr in person.


How did you get started teaching?

I was first introduced to teacher while working as a martial arts instructor in high school, but began tutoring during my senior year of college.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked will numerous types of students in an academic setting, with the youngest being about 10 years old. My typical age range has tended to be about 13-16, however.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Geometry Tutors Trigonometry Tutors Statistics Tutors College Essays Help Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Writing Tutors Private Tutors Physics Tutors Taekwondo Classes Fencing Classes Chemistry Tutors