"I'm Not A Businessman, I'm A Business, Man" - Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee

About this tutor

Hey!

My name is Sai. I'm a Math and Philosophy major at Columbia University, currently taking a gap year before I resume my studies in September as a Junior. I'm looking to save some money before I get back to school - and I would love to help any struggling students with whatever material they might need help with.

I graduated in the top 10% of my graduating class at Montgomery HS. I am proficient in Java and I have a strong understanding of math from the foundations up through Linear Algebra. I have some experience with philosophical/argumentative writing.

I enjoy working with motivated middle-high school  students on improving their understanding of material and/or working with them on acheiving their short or long term goals.

I like to help to empower young people and equip them with the vision and tools to overcome obstacles and pursue their goals.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Dallas, TX 75219
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Saimasina Nelson

    As Sai Nelson, I would say my experience working with him has been pretty on point. He is a little disorganized, but he gets it done.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

-Introduce myself and try to get to know the student a little. Establish a comfortable and open atmosphere.

-Identify problems, areas that need work, any pieces of foundational knowledge or understanding that are missing.

-Work on each of those pieces sequentially to build into the harder/more abstract problems.

-Help the student troubleshoot/debug/reconsider any problems that arise along the way as needed.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

-HS diploma

-Currently a sophomore-junior at Columbia University in NYC

-Majoring in Mathematics and Philosophy

-Taught swim lessons for about 2 years

-Worked with students at Medrano Middle School for less than a year as a student success coach with City Year

-Proficient coding in Java

-mbti type is INTP


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My starting price is 60/hr, but I am open to working with you if you can't pay that. At least 40/hr strongly preferred if you can afford it. Will pay it forward. I don't have any degrees and/or certifications other tutors might have, but I am confident I can offer the same quality of instruction or better.

I may charge more depending on if I will have to drive some distance to meet. I'm also open to working out a lower hourly cost if you need more lessons.


How did you get started teaching?

I used to teach swim lessons when I was in high school. I also would help friends and my siblings with whatever academic work they were struggling with. Never had a formal academic tutoring/teaching position


What types of students have you worked with?

Swim lessons for ages 4-14. Academic help with all ages 4-any


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Watch out for bad math teachers


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

If you have any questions, feel free to text or call me at 936-697-9433. You can also email me at [email protected] or [email protected]

The only bad questions are the ones you don't ask.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Algorithms Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Discrete Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Finite Mathematics Tutors Geometry Tutors Linear Algebra Tutors Multivariable Calculus Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Probability Tutors