Swan Tutoring

Swan Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
4 years in business

About this tutor

As a Rice University graduate who has tutored students both in the States and worked as a language teacher in Japan, I have over 4 years of experience engaging with a variety of students with various learning styles and cultures. I am currently attending veterinary school.

My expertise is in math and reading/writing for elementary to middle school, and essay writing and college prep (SAT/ACT) for high school. I am also competent in biology courses of all levels.

We are all unique individuals, and it's important to me to be able to cater my teaching methods to each individual client. I make sure that our time together is spent not only learning, but also having fun and enjoying the subject matter.

What I truly enjoy about tutoring is that the learning goes both ways. I am learning how to be a better teacher with every session, and in return whenever I see light bulbs go off or connections being made by my students, it makes me want to work that much harder to make sure that they're not only getting better grades, but growing in self-esteem and feeling proud of themselves for what they've done.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Bryan, TX 77801
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Oftentimes when I first students, they are reluctant to approach the subject matter as they find it difficult or they feel pressure to do well from their peers, family, other teachers, etc.

Therefore, I try to keep my sessions light-hearted as I can. Part of tutoring is reframing one's mindset towards the subject, and the rest falls into place with patience and practice.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I began tutoring privately for some elementary school students in the Houston area while I was at Rice, and also took a few education classes during my time there. After graduating, I spent a gap year teaching English in Japan to elementary and middle school students, ages 6-14.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

In general I ask for $20/hr, but I do often stay a bit later to wrap up a session if I feel like I haven't covered the material adequately.


How did you get started teaching?

I was first told by some friends that I would be a good tutor at a study session during high school. I laughed at their compliment, thinking that what they said was ridiculous. But I soon found myself volunteering for tutoring programs after school, and things took off from there.


What types of students have you worked with?

Elementary school students up through middle school.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Finding a good teacher is a bit like dating. Don't be afraid to have a few first sessions with a few different people before you decide to stick with one you're comfortable with.


Services offered

English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Biology Tutors AP Biology Tutors Anatomy Tutors ACT Writing Help Tutors ACT Test Prep ACT Math Help Tutors ACT English Tutors ACT Reading Help Tutors ACT Science Help Tutors ACT Prep Tutors GRE Tutors SAT Prep Tutors PSAT Tutors SAT Math Tutors SAT Reading Tutors SAT Test Prep Grammar Tutors