Experienced Tutor In Humanities, Languages, And Social Sciences

Experienced Tutor In Humanities, Languages, And Social Sciences

5.0 (1)
1 employee
9 years in business

About this tutor

Hi there! My name is Francesca and I am an advanced PhD student and college instructor in the department of Cinema and Media Studies at the University of Chicago, currently living and writing my dissertation in Austin, Texas.  I completed my Bachelor’s Degree in winter of 2012 from Middlebury College in Vermont, where I double majored in French Language and Literature and Political Science, graduating Summa Cum Laude in the top 5% of my class.  I scored in the 99th percentile in the writing and reading sections of both the SATs and the GREs.  Over my college and graduate career, I have taken a wide range of courses predominantly in the humanities and social sciences, and feel very comfortable tutoring a wide array of subjects. 

I am passionate about teaching and am looking to make it my life’s work.  I currently have almost a decade of experience tutoring and teaching various subjects, in both official and volunteer positions, at the middle school, high school, and university level.  Subjects I have tutored and taught in the classroom including French, Spanish, ESL, Writing and Composition, Oral Presentation Preparation, Documentary Film Production, and Film Theory and History.   I love tutoring and enjoy being able to tailor my syllabi and pedagogical methods to individual students in order to best meet their needs and ensure their active and effective learning.  I am happy seeing my students succeed both academically and personally, and derive great pleasure and meaning in helping them expand their horizons, overcome specific challenges, acquire new skills, and meet their goals.

When I am not working I like to travel, ride horses, paint and draw, play the piano, visit art museums, read, and go to the movies with friends.  I love to explore new cultures and have learned so much over the years from my diverse and international group of students. I look forward to meeting you soon and being able to count you amongst them!

More information can be found on my LinkedIn page (linkedin.com/in/fylambert) and my CV is available on request.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Austin, TX 78721
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Gracia Wang

    The tutoring was very productive. Francesca efficiently helped me to improve my essay and gave me very useful suggestions both on film study and English writing. She is very knowledgable and excellent.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My process involves listening to the student first and foremost, and being open to modifying and tailoring my approach to their specific needs and goals.  Over my decade of experience I have worked with a wide range of students and find that it's important to specify my pedagogical approach to their knowledge level and learning process.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

As an undergraduate I was trained by the Middlebury Center for Teaching, Learning and Research to tutor college students in French and Spanish comprehension, writing, and oral skills.  I am currently completing my PhD at the University of Chicago.  As part of my doctoral training I have undergone extensive pedagogical training, including working as a course assistant and teaching my own undergraduate lecture course.  As part of this I have worked extensively one-on-one with students, especially on written assignments.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students ranging in age from 12 to 40, with varying degrees of English proficiency.


Services offered

English Tutors American Literature Tutors AP English Tutors College Essays Help Tutors Creative Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors ESL Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Expository Writing Lessons Fiction Writing Tutors Grammar Tutors Literary Analysis Tutors Literature Tutors Persuasive Writing Tutors Proofreading Tutors Reading Tutors Speech Tutors Spelling Tutors Vocabulary Tutors