Engineer Tutors

Engineer Tutors

5.0 (1)
4 hires on Tutors.com
1 employee
1 years in business

About this tutor

As a career Civil Engineer, education and continuing to learn is not only a necessity in my field, but a characteristic i greatly value in myself. As an engineer, I have the technical knowledge of math and science as well as the tangible practicalities of using that knowledge. Not everyone I tutor may want to be an engineer, or even enter a career in math or science. However, I take it as my responsibility to provide these students with the knowledge to make their own, intelligent choices, to solve their problems on their own, and to share the sense of pride and accomplishment in being able to expand one's knowledge. In the end, it is the desire to learn something new that I encourage in everyone I teach, because no matter what path these kids choose, if they are willing and able to learn, I know they will be able to succeed.

Every projects creates a new problem that has to be solved in its own specific way.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Lucas, TX 75002
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Deborah Sweeney

    Matt not only helped my grandson get up to speed on his math he was a great encourager to motivate my grandson to excel in his classes. He finished the year on the honor roll and the tipping point was the tutoring class and interaction with Matt. We really appreciate all he did to educate and encourage!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I establish a base of what the student understands to focus time on improving the areas he/she struggles. I learn about my students interests, hobbies, and personality and adapt the learning environment suitable for the student. I encourage asking questions and seeking help to ensure a complete understanding of the subject.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a degree in Civil Engineering which gives me a strong background of math and science. Workting at Radio Disney for several years trained me to communicate with kids.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Each student is different and may require a different schedule to learn the material.

Rates:

Mathematics - Typically, my rate is $30/hr (minimum) for basic math and algebra, $40/hr for geometry, trginometry, and precalculus, and $50/hr for calculus and above.

Physics and physical science - $40-$50/hr

Price can be adjusted to meet the needs of the parents and students in terms of length of hire and preparation required.


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring middle school students while attending college out of my interest to teach and learn. I would take on students on and off over the follwing years while studying full time and/or working full time.


What types of students have you worked with?

8th grade to 11th grade.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

Any time at my job I am given the opportunity to teach a coworker a design method he can use to improve his ability as an employee.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Always meet with the teacher/tutor first to learn about eachother and create realistic expectations.


Services offered

Math Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors AP Calculus Tutors Calculus Tutors Calculus 2 Tutors Differential Equations Help Tutors Geometry Tutors