Lexi's Writing And Foreign Language Help

Lexi's Writing And Foreign Language Help

5.0
1 employee

About this tutor

I graduated with a 4.0 GPA from the Honors College at Middle Tennessee State University with degrees in journalism and Spanish, as well as an Arabic minor.

I have experience working with students ages 5 through 25. I've helped coach students to write leaner, more impactful pieces. I was the only Arabic tutor at MTSU for the 2019-2020 school year. I've also completed long-term studies abroad in Spain in Morocco, where my language skills were put to the test. I can help with anything form grammar and vocabulary memorization to constructing a strong, research-heavy essay.

Feel free to look over my qualifications on my LinkedIn profile:

 https://www.linkedin.com/in/alexis-marshall-832550131/

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Murfreesboro, TN 37129
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I'd like to set up a phone call to discuss specific needs and areas for improvement. From there we can assess the length and frequency of our sessions, set up a schedule and start working toward the student's goals.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have bachelor's degrees in journalism and Spanish, as well as a minor in Arabic. I've worked as an extended school program teacher, where I gave introductory level Spanish classes. I've also volunteered as a writing coach in entry level journalism classes and served as the sole Arabic tutor for MTSU for the 2019-2020 academic year.

I lived in Malaga, Spain while taking junior and senior level undergraduate courses, taught exclusively in Spanish and Arabic. I am an alumna of the extremely competitive Critical Lanugage Scholarship program, during which I completed eight weeks rigorous Modern Standard Arabic study in Meknes, Morocco. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

For lessons that do not require me to prepare exercises ahead of time, my rate is $25 per hour within Murfreesboro city limits. For lessons given outside Murfreesboro, we can negotiate appropriate compensation based on mileage.


How did you get started teaching?

I began Spanish tutoring in high school as part of the Spanish club. In college I volunteered to come back to my foundational writing professor's class and help his students. By my senior year, my Arabic professor noticed my understanding of the material and ease working with fellow students, and asked me to be the Arabic tutor. 

As a trained journalist, a huge part of my job is distilling big, complex issues into easy-to-understand pieces. Tutoring employs a similar skill set to benefit my students.


What types of students have you worked with?

kindergarteners through college seniors


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What are your long-term goals for this area of study? How much time are you willing to put into this topic outside of class time and our lessons? How will you make the most of our instructional time together?


Services offered

Arabic Tutors Spanish Tutors College Admissions Coaches College Essays Help Tutors College Tutors English Tutors Essay Editing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Foreign Language Tutors Grammar Tutors Homework Help Tutors Honors Test Prep and Tutoring Human Geography Tutors Journalism Tutors Personal Tutors Private Tutors Social Sciences Tutors Social Studies Tutors Study Skills Tutors Vocabulary Tutors